We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Bar”
Review of The Bear Restaurant - CLOSED

The Bear Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Now under management as of 2014 and newly revamped as a stylish hotel, bar & restaurant, The Bear has a new lease of life as a spacious, relaxed and welcoming venue for locals and visitors alike. Enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner 7 days a week in our restaurant with a monthly-changing menu of freshly prepared modern British dishes, spend the night in the lap of luxury in one of our newly renovated boutique hotel rooms or simply pop in for a drink with friends in our bar lounging area. The Bear can cater for large parties and events with buffet and set menus and special bar arrangements to help make your occasion extra special. We are pleased to allow dogs in our side bar and happy to welcome families with children of all ages.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Decent Bar”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We recently dined at the Bear Restaurant. It is very convenient to get to if you are in a number of the Bed and Breakfasts in the area.

The Bear doesn't have a huge number of beers on tap, but still has about 15 or so. They do have a decent cocktail menu so you can also get other types of drinks with ease.

The food here is decent and offers a wide range of choices, all of which are good.

This bar also lets in dogs which is convenient if you have brought your dog to Bath.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffsumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    72
    45
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I live near the Bear and have been going for a number of years. The food has steadily improved but the prices are way over the top for what you get. It's trying to be an upmarket restaurant when actually it's no more than fairly standard pub grub written on the menu in such a way as to sound impressive. Also the kitchen always seems to be out of certain dishes and it's not great when you are told that the two things that interest you are unavailable. You can do better in Bath and spend less!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Welcoming pub with good food”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We dined at the Bear Restaurant back in early April as it was up the road from where we were staying.We enjoyed the atmosphere of the pub and the food choices on offer. Our meal was very nice. The staff were also very efficient (for a busy Tuesday night) and friendly, especially the young lass who bought me a large glass of ice because I was feeling rather warm/flushed. Her kindness was greatly appreciated. The Bear might not be a fancy pub, but it sure is welcoming with great food and staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Bear Restaurant”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was just around the corner from where we were staying. We were welcomed warmly. The restaurant was fairly busy and we hadn't booked, no problem. Service was good and the food was good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanLin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“bed for the night”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone friendly clean and the bed was comfortable I was welcome by friendly on the ball staff who made the visit to bath wonderful I couldn't fault any thing wrong with it breakfast was great coffee was nice too I love this place and would def return

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ridetheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Restaurant also viewed

 
Farmborough, Bath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing