We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great but OK pub!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bear Restaurant - CLOSED

The Bear Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $37
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Now under management as of 2014 and newly revamped as a stylish hotel, bar & restaurant, The Bear has a new lease of life as a spacious, relaxed and welcoming venue for locals and visitors alike. Enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner 7 days a week in our restaurant with a monthly-changing menu of freshly prepared modern British dishes, spend the night in the lap of luxury in one of our newly renovated boutique hotel rooms or simply pop in for a drink with friends in our bar lounging area. The Bear can cater for large parties and events with buffet and set menus and special bar arrangements to help make your occasion extra special. We are pleased to allow dogs in our side bar and happy to welcome families with children of all ages.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not great but OK pub!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Bear looks nice from the outside and you would expect to walk into a well furnished and cosy gastro pub. But inside, it looks more like the average local pub.
They do serve food which I found quite expensive. The menu was rather limited but the service was good. The drinks were reasonably priced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    72
    45
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Slow service, Moody Waitress and average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

It's my 3rd attempt to give The Bear a chance. We're new to the area and a family friendly pub nearby was great news. However sadly the first visit we were served macaroni cheese that was still fridge chilled inside.
Second attempt they hardly had any of the food on the menu - it was 2pm Saturday. They also hardly had any ales on tap too.
And my third and final visit we waited over 45 minutes for a sandwich with chips, 3 kids meals and some soup when only 3 other tables were taken with diners. When I asked about the whereabouts of our food when other tables seemed to be served much more elaborate meals before us when ordering after us, the waitress was particularly defensive and abrupt. When the food did arrive the kids meals had chips absolutely smothered in salt and the soup was luke warm at best. The waitress then neglected to thank us for our custom when paying at the end.
Poor at best and needless to say it won't be given a fourth chance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DTM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over priced, average service...a bit chilly and not great loos!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Only three breakfasts ordered and two of them were wrong. Food was delicious but overpriced. Almost £7 for 2 eggs and A mushroom! Had to request the toast we had originally ordered and when it turned up it was cheap white bread.. Surely either the chef or waiting staff might have noticed the orders were wrong? Would also have expected better quality bread at that price... The Bear is convenient but needs to up its game. Correct orders at a reasonable price please! (And please turn the heating up /on and fix the ladies loos - two were out of order!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BorisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Different Menus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Although this may have irritated you, we actually saw the funny side of it !!! We didn't want to walk into the town centre and get a bus or taxi home, so decided to have our evening meal here. We had an initial drink and then ordered our food....after a couple of minutes it became obvious we had different menus!!!! After the laughter subsided, we found out which menu was the correct one and ordered our evening meal.

The staff were friendly, attentive and courteous and the menu was varied. Our food was delicious and cooked exactly as we had requested. A good all round restaurant and recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“nice pub and even better food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Not a lot of parking so come by bus or walk.
Food was better than just pubfood and presented very nice.
There are several wines by the glass and prices were decent.
We made a reservation for a table but I dont think that was a neccessity.
The bar area is not very fancy, rather plain, certainly not cosy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing