We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer, great food”
Review of The Salamander

The Salamander
Ranked #58 of 587 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Salamander is great city-centre pub. 'The Sally' serves good food and a fine choice of beers from Bath Ales and beyond, and welcomes a friendly, eclectic audience. It's small, it's snug but it's oh so special! The Salamander is tucked neatly away just off Queen Square in the heart of the Georgian city of Bath. Historically a 'steak and chop house', it now consists of a well-stocked bar on the ground floor and an impressive dining room complete with galley kitchen upstairs. Using the finest produce from local suppliers, 'The Sally' is renowned for its imaginative and varied menu, available both downstairs in the bar and upstairs.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Only went in because it was raining but what a find! Great Bath Ales beer of which we had several, amazing sausage rolls and excellent sandwiches at the bar, so all in all .... Fabulous! Will definitely seek it out again when next in Bath.

Thank Robvilladerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeF2255, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Good job finding us! Keep an eye out for our home made scotch eggs next time.... sensational!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for The Salamander
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 335 of 547 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

well.... starting from the good things of this place it is a bath ales brewery own so there is good choice of good ales.
Sadly this is the only good thing I can find of that place. No atmosphere downstairs where the pub is supposed to be, no scene upstairs where the restaurant is. Didn't enjoy the food, found a quite slow service and I think it is too expensive for what you have. Briefly you can find 1000 better place in bath.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank davide t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeF2255, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Glad you liked our choice of ales, I can only apologise for the lack of atmosphere. We do try to create a nice ambience, warm & cosy with welcoming staff. As the weather has been so dreadful this week we have quieter than usual, which may have created a lack of atmosphere, but we do try to make everyone feel comfortable here.

Again I can only apologise about the food, we do feel we are reasonably priced for the quality and local ingredients we use. I do wish you had raised any issues with me at the time as I would have liked to have rectified them straight away. we try to ensure our service is efficient and we do our best to get food to tables as soon as we can.

everyone in the team is disappointed we didn't meet your expectations and we would like to invite you back to provide you with the same experience that many of the other reviewers on here have had.

my sincere apologies once again

James & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Did not try the food but took in a Brit visitor from San Francisco who misses good ale and English pub atmosphere. This pub cheered him on both. Even better on Rugby match days.

    • Atmosphere
Thank malcthetalc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeF2255, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Great news! Glad we impressed :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We found The Salamander by chance when escaping the rain and sat upstairs in the dining room as it was quieter than the bar area. It was around 2:30pm on a Sat, and all the daily specials had run out. I would recommend from the menu: pork & scallop dish; horseradish dumplings with brisket dish needed more salt. Service was good and would recommend eating here.

1  Thank CultureStamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeF2255, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thanks for dropping in! Glad you enjoyed our menu. Our new spring menu launches very soon. You'll have to come and sample that too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A nice pub with a good ambience. We just went in for bar snacks but took over 45 minutes to get them.

Thank jkb2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeF2255, Manager at The Salamander, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

My sincere apologies for the wait on your food on your visit. Due to the size of our kitchen, this has been a running theme through out December as I'm sure you can appreciate how busy we have been!

Once again, I'm entirely sorry we didn't manage to communicate this to you before ordering.

Please pop back in January or February to take advantage of our 25% off offer! We'll have the same great food but a little quicker!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salamander also viewed

 
Swineford, Bitton
 

Been to The Salamander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing