We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked EVERY Box!”
Review of The Salamander

The Salamander
Reserve with OpenTable
The Salamander is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 619 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Salamander is great city-centre pub. 'The Sally' serves good food and a fine choice of beers from Bath Ales and beyond, and welcomes a friendly, eclectic audience. It's small, it's snug but it's oh so special! The Salamander is tucked neatly away just off Queen Square in the heart of the Georgian city of Bath. Historically a 'steak and chop house', it now consists of a well-stocked bar on the ground floor and an impressive dining room complete with galley kitchen upstairs. Using the finest produce from local suppliers, 'The Sally' is renowned for its imaginative and varied menu, available both downstairs in the bar and upstairs.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Good welcome on arrival Menu well planned, Macaroni cheese starter with parmesan au gratin makes a tasty substantial starter, Braised Ox cheek and Confit Duck leg served with interesting veg. Excellent range of ales/lagers plus selection of wines by the glass. Great atmosphere, superb service, More casual dining available on the ground floor/bar area. (If you need to avoid more than just a couple of steps) Knowledgeable staff, and "good to handle cutlery!" (An item that lets so many establishments down) Toilet facility excellent with quality soap/cream. What more can one ask for?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderBath428889, Manager at The Salamander, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thankyou! Great to see our luxury soap isnt being ignored!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 456 of 601 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited The Salamander for a Friday night ale and meal. The ales were outstanding, as anticipated. We were expecting good pub fare and happily discovered The Salamander was well above that standard. We ate in the upstairs area which was cozy and quiet. Our server popped by regularly to check on us and was quite helpful. My husband enjoyed the smoked salmon starter and a butternut squash/leek/pine nut wellington. Both were excellent. I opted for the chicken and leek pie, which is served with a huge portion of mash and tasty gravy on the side.

We stopped in late the next night for an ale and the server remembered us and gave a warm greeting. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank McKinneyKewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderBath428889, Manager at The Salamander, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

I dare say I'll remember you again! Hope to see you soon and great to hear you enjoyed everything we had to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Can't comment on the food but the pub is well worth a visit with good local beers and friendly bar staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Chris5458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderBath428889, Manager at The Salamander, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Youll have to pop in again to try the food! Great to hear were making the right impression!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stopped in at the Salamander, ravenous after a long drive through the countryside. We sampled some of the local Bath ales that were on offer (delicious) and ate dinner and desert (also very delicious).

Two standout features were the atmosphere - very comfortable, cosy and inviting - and the staff. In particular, Becky was very helpful and attentive.

A must visit when in Bath, for a drink, a bite to eat or just to rest your weary legs.

Thank grannywobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderBath428889, Manager at The Salamander, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thanks very much for your comments! I'll pass them on to Becky. Great to hear you enjoyed everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I first went to this pub/ restaurant for a work's Christmas meal in December. The food and service were so good I decided to go again last weekend after a rugby match. We went there at 4.30 after the game and the restaurant was quiet, but not empty. As before the staff were friendly, the service good and the food delicious. I can thoroughly recommend The Salamander for group bookings or for smaller groups of 2 or 4.
We will certainly be going back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christie-Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderBath428889, Manager at The Salamander, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed everything! Why dont you make yourselfs known next time your in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salamander also viewed

 

Been to The Salamander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing