We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives up to it's reputation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Hart Inn

The White Hart Inn
Ranked #156 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lives up to it's reputation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our first visit for a while, there's such a big choice in Bath. We've eaten here several times before and never been disappointed, this time was no exceptional. Very popular with locals, it has a lovely lively atmosphere with friendly staff who have been there a long time. Service is friendly and efficient without being rushed.

We went with friends and started by sharing a selection of Tapas - Olives, Homemade Humus and Pesto. All delicious, the Pesto in particular is always a favourite and there was a bit of a fight over the last olive! For mains the girls both chose the Pork Chop from the specials menu served with mustard mash which was obviously enjoyed judging by the empty plates. The chaps went for the Rack of Lamb served on a spicy Aubergine base and the whole Sea Bass with Thai Butter. The lamb was cooked to perfection but a bit fatty was the comment of my friend, the Sea Bass perfect. Side dishes are generous here, one between two is fine. Dessert was a perfect Creme Brulee and a delicious shared cheese board. Wife with back ache (old church chairs are a bit hard) couldn't manage dessert though was tempted by the Chocolate Tart which seemed very popular on all the surrounding tables.

Always book in advance, it's very busy and for good reason.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beansabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    88
    25
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I took my in-laws here for Sunday lunch today and was very impressed. The restaurant is lovely and cosy with a great ambience - there was a really chilled atmosphere and everything felt 'just right'. The service was great, the food was lovely and it's a good location, just off the city centre. My husband had a starter of squid which was very generous and tasted great. I had the chicken with bubble and squeak, bacon and chipolata sausage and roast potatoes and veg. My husband went for the roast pork and 6 hours later we are both so full we can't even contemplate dinner! Might have had something to do with the desserts we ate though! The treacle tart was served with a big blob of clotted cream and was GORGEOUS! My husband had the brownie with ice cream which got his seal of approval! We finished off with a lovely coffee each (served with a squishy, buttery shortcake square) - would definitely recommend the White Hart for Sunday lunch. Some might say it's a little pricey but I think it's worth paying a little extra for the lovely environment and good quality food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Ramjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“the perfect find away from the over commercialized city centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I'll keep it short and sweet- the food was fantastic and the service warm and sincere!
My only regret is ...Not visiting earlier! (I have lived in Bath for nearly 3 years)

Glad to have visited the White Hart Inn after being let down by too many restaurants in the city centre.

Definitely visiting again soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller55m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Bath for the weekend the White Hart was recommended so we gave it a try The staff were very friendly and attentive the atmosphere good and the meal excellent we will be back

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SnRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very tasty food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I needed a supper after going to see a film at the Little Theatre. Most of the restaurants in Bath looked busy and noisy so we stumbled on the White Hart which we haven't been to since 2010. Absolutely delighted to report that we had a very tasty Thai Duck dish with rice and a Thai Sauce and in very pleasant surroundings. The food took some time coming but was well worth the wait. We shared a bread and butter pudding which was also very light and delicious (very unlike the ones I had at School).

Very friendly staff and service was excellent. Well done.

Helpful?
Thank DariusMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart Inn also viewed

 
Bath, Somerset
Bath, Somerset
 

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing