We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and wholesome...worth searching for...”
Review of Sam Wellers

Sam Wellers
Ranked #115 of 577 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Welcoming and wholesome...worth searching for...”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Traditional English pub in central Bath supporting Bath rugby. Instantaneous broad smiled welcome from both bar staff, good wine selection, local beers, and traditional lunchtime menu with large portions very reasonably priced....well worth searching out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JABOZ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    86
    15
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Beer and Good Staff”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This cozy pub in the heart of the shopping district was a lovely place to take in the atmosphere of Bath whilst sampling the real ale. My partner was sure what beer she wanted and the landlord was only too happy to let her sample all the Guest Ales so she could better understand what was on offer. Naturally we stayed for a few pints and we were made very welcome. There was a good mix of locals and tourists and the food looked like godd honest pub food too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Swattsitallabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you are looking for good English pub food with amazing service in Bath, then Sam Weller's is the place to visit. The couple behind the bar were very friendly, provided great service and even gave us some pointers on must see's to do in Bath. The atmosphere was very welcoming, cute and traditional looking and the food portions were massive. Would go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My partner and I decided to treat our selves to a sunday lunch we had previousley eaten here before so thought it was a good choice WRONG Only roast beef was available so we both went for that when it arrived it consisted of two pre sliced beef slices four frozen deepfried roast potatoes tow hard new potatoes frozen peas,carrots and broccoli when we tried it it was cold so we told the waitress ,when it was returned to us it had obviousley been microwaved not a great help to the now soggy roast potatoes, we did raise our opinion to the waitress but she just was not interested.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lornabath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best little pub in Bath!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Mike and Maria are a great couple and always make us welcome on busy rugby days! Pub is plain and simple just as it should be - beer is good and food plentiful and tasty not to mention good value. Lots of Bath Rugby memorabilia should tell you this is a true Bathonian pub!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Wellers also viewed

 

Been to Sam Wellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing