We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Walton Villa Bath

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walton Villa Bath
Ranked #96 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B !!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I stayed here two nights with my Mum this weekend. There's off street parking (it's tight but if I can park there anyone can ;) ) The couple who ran the place were lovely, very informative and helpful, they let us leave the car there so we could walk into the town even though we'd already checked out! The room was immaculate both in decoration and cleanliness. We were in room 2 which is the twin and faces the main road, there was road noise but nothing that will keep you awake at night. We had cooked breakfasts both mornings which were so tasty and not greasy at all. There's a great pub/restaurant a couple of minutes walk away called The Weston. It took us about 30 minutes to walk into the town but we do doodle so would be quicker at a normal walking pace.

I can't recommend Walton Villa enough and will definitely be coming back here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperBeanie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Our accommodation was hosted by a lovely couple who went out of their way to accommodate our every need. They suggested places to see and to not miss this and that. The parking was tight but no problems. The room was lovely and clean. Breakfasts were also too much and we had got to the stage where we were not having the big English breakfasts otherwise we would end up fat as. We were about 2 miles from the centre of Bath and the walk down into town was great as we passed by Royal Crescent and the park before we reached parts of the old town. There was a bus service from town with a stop right outside the B&B and we used the bus to come home up the hill a couple of afternoons when the legs were all walked off. We recommend Walton Villa for a comfy place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JannienadKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I traveled through England for two weeks and as usual used Trip Advisor throughout which is always accurate..

This was my favorite of the bed and breakfasts that I stayed in. The owners Michael and Carole really go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable and welcome. The home is spotless and my room, although a single, was not the traditional small room given singles; the renovated bathroom for my use only was adjacent and quite large for a single.

Carole's breakfast was excellent , particularly the salmon and scrambled eggs on toast, and in the morning Michael, as well as having a great sense of humor, is very helpful with answering questions about Bath. They also do little things that might seem small but do add up. I had done laundry and left some clothes out to dry in my room. They took them while I was out to put in their personal dryer. I saw that they also did that for another solo traveler the day before.

Every day the coffee, tea, biscuits are generously replenished and the room is immaculately cleaned; the bed is also very comfortable! Finally the location while not being in the 'center' of Bath is perfect. There is a bus stop literally around the corner to go to the city and the stop from the city is in front of their home. The walk through Victoria Park though is only about 15 minutes and lovely. Traveling alone, I found Bath a very safe city and was able to walk all around and take the buses with no problem in the evening. There is also a nice pub Weston around the corner that does not look that impressive from the outside but serves delicious food including a great Sunday roast--it does sell out early though.

Overall I loved Bath and it was in part due to my stay at Walton Villa. I look forward to returning, Thank you Michael and Carole for a great stay!

Other Recommendations: Lime Lounge!! The Tasting Room (wine bar and restaurant), Circo Cocktail Lounge in Halycon Hotel, walking along River Avon to Bathampton, Jane Austen Walking Tour

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dctraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Walton Villa for two nights in July 2011. Our room was tastefully decorated, the bed comfortable, the en-suite spotless and well equipped, the breakfasts excellent. The location is on a main road about 30 minutes walk into the centre of Bath, but quiet at night. We would be happy to return and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitzigrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The room was spotlessly clean, the towels were like duvets, breakfast was delicious and non-greasy, and the house a pleasant walk from the centre of bath (about 15-25 minutes depending on walking speed). The owners clearly work extremely hard to run this delightful b+b - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_lalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our room was very clean and comfortable. Owners Michael and Carole were friendly and helpful, and they were happy to answer questions and provide information about Bath. The location is great - in a quiet neighborhood, a short bus ride or a half-hour walk (through a park) to the town center. Breakfast was very good, and we enjoyed lively conversation with other guests. There was only one thing I would change: although the feather duvet was lovely, it was a bit too heavy for the warm weather - would have been nice to have a lightweight sheet. We hope to visit Bath again and would definitely want to stay at Walton Villa.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramblers1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Michael and Carole accommodated us over a long weekend.
The service was friendly and helpful.
Our room was lovely with a huge double bed, television, clean bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities!
The directions provided got us to our destination easily and we were delighted with the beautiful walk into the city centre through the lovely gardens past royal crescent.
The location was nice and quiet, on and off street parking available and easy distance to walk everywhere (15 mins to the action!)
We would be happy to stay again and recommend this as a comfortable and relaxing B and B!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kec85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Ashley Villa Guest House
0.1 mi away
The New Crown Inn and Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Firs Bed & Breakfast
The Firs Bed & Breakfast
#109 of 160 in Bath
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marisha's Guest House
Marisha's Guest House
#53 of 160 in Bath
104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Park Guest House
Royal Park Guest House
#90 of 160 in Bath
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton Villa Bath

Property: Walton Villa Bath
Address: 3 Newbridge Hill | Lower Weston, Bath BA1 3PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Hotel Class:4 star — Walton Villa Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walton Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing