We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Bath”
Review of Devonshire House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Devonshire House
Ranked #33 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Devonshire house in Oct 2012 and were perfectly happy. The host (Judith) took amazingly good care of us. It really felt like being part of a small family: Judith recommended where to go to and even had prepared a map and a short desciption on how to get to the city center. The room was conveniently sized, well equipped with everything one might need (including a coffee/tea maker), quiet and absolutely tidy. The continental breakfast was excellent (including fresh fruit salad, which I especially liked) and a freshly prepared full English breakfast was available for a little extra fee. Free of charge parking was easily available and we also felt perfectly save when walking to the house in the late evening.
All in all the best B&B we have ever been to. Thanks for the nice days. I will definitely recommend it to friends & family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 243 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We arrived at the Devonshire after some difficulties with the parking and found a notice on the door which said please go to the pub next door! This actually worked fine though it was a bit of strange process to check into a B&B on your own! However once we were in all was fine - great place, well furnished and comfortable rooms and a excellent system for breakfast in the morning (basically help yourself with a preorder of hot food as required the night before). My scrambled eggs, sausages and mushrooms, followed by crumpets and marmalade were perfect for the cycle ride to Shaftesbury!! The B&B is well situated for Bath city centre though the walk back is a little steep. Only negatives were the parking, which is on street and not so convenient if you have heavy cases, and the busy road itself which is a bit of a barrier from the parking. Great place overall.

Room Tip: I had the downstairs room at the back which was great for single occupancy but might have been a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed for two nights b and b with my daughter. The hosts were very welcoming, and the room was cosy with tasteful decor and personal touches. Breakfast was very yummy and plentiful. A bit of a hike out of town, but we knew this and it wasn't a problem. Plenty of street parking and near to parks and green areas.

Room Tip: If you were staying longer you might want a room with more drawer space than we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in Bath at Devonshire House for three nights in September 2012. I booked through the owner's website which was easy and you are able to see immediately if there is availability. Louise also wrote to me in advance to check on arrival time and to confirm the booking which I thought was professional.

There are some small touches at Devonshire House which we appreciated such as fresh milk in the 'fridge for a cup of tea and mugs in the dining room if you preferred a mug to the cup in your room. There is also a tray of chocolates and crisps in the dining room which are available to buy if you feel like a snack but don't feel like going out. There is a supermarket very close by and a great pizza place just down the road.

Chris and Louise were also very helpful about places to visit. We went to Highclere Castle one day and on Chris' recommendation included Salisbury and Stonehenge by driving south rather than north. We also walked to Alexandra Park from Devonshire House and took in the wonderful view over the city on their recommendation. All in all we much enjoyed our stay at Devonshire House.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellerfrequent7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards. Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Louise and Chris were lovely hosts. We advised them we would be arriving a few hours earlier than the advertised check in time, and they were very accommodating and had our room ready by the time we arrived. Chris greeted us, and immediately gave us some suggestions as to how to make the most of our couple of days in Bath.
The room itself was lovely, with classic furnishings, good quality linens, a small flat screen TV with built in DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities, etc. The beds were extremely comfortable and warm. The bathroom was also very nice and, most importantly for us, clean!
The continental breakfast included in the room rate was plentiful and included fruit, breads, croissants, muffins, ham, cheese and jams, as well as cereals. On our first morning, we opted for the cooked English breakfast which is an additional £5 charge per person, and it was delicious.
We walked into town, once via the main road (about 15-20 minutes walk, mainly downhill) and once via the scenic route (this took closer to 30 minutes, but the spectacular panoramic views of Bath were well worth it!). We caught bus #13 back from town, getting off at the Devonshire Buildings stop, not too far from the house (the bus ride took around 5 minutes).
All in all, we had a wonderful stay at Debonshire House and would definitely recommend it!


  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy Travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Devonshire house for four nights and it proved to be an excellent place to stay. The staff were very nice and extremely helpful and provided all the personal touches which make a stay so enjoyable. The breakfast was lovely and chris remembered what we had in the morning and brought more out for us, as well as our fruit bowl in our room being topped up every day. Chris was very welcoming and very helpful and we went to all the places he recommended and we were not disappointed. it was a very relaxing place to come back to after a long day and the room was very clean. we would definitely return to bath again and stay at the Devonshire and would 100% recommend it to anyone visiting bath

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callum O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thanks for your positive feedback, glad the recommendations suited you both. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My friend and I spent two nights at the Devonshire House after our previously booked B&B was sold due to the owner taking ill. They graciously took us in with only 2 weeks notice of our arrival, and made us feel at home. The room was lovely, and the location was convenient to downtown Bath via a 15-20 minute walk. The walk back was very much uphill - but helped us to work off our cream tea from earlier in the day. :-) If it is raining or you have luggage, definitely take a cab. The owner was incredibly friendly and offered us some helpful recommendations for site-seeing. The B&B is located across the street from a pub, which provided our dinner the first evening there. Breakfast was simple but good - very filling. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#47 of 155 in Bath
238 reviews
1.0 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 155 in Bath
802 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 155 in Bath
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#27 of 155 in Bath
403 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#17 of 155 in Bath
959 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beech Cottage B&B
Beech Cottage B&B
#23 of 155 in Bath
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House

Address: 143 Wellsway, Bath BA2 4RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $105 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run B&B used to be a Victorian Grocers shop, but now offers individually furnished, ensuite bedrooms, including a family room, twin bedded and double rooms. Thirty years of combined hospitality experience ensure the service and standards are both professional and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Devonshire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing