We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's 'good plus' but not yet 'very good'”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Central Bar

Central Bar
Ranked #400 of 567 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Wine, dine and recline at one of Bath's premier cocktail lounges. Join our professional mixologists to find the cocktail to suit your mood, from classic Martinis and Manhattans to Margaritas and Mimosas, as well as our own range of exclusive drinks. Relax with us by day, and be sure to stay for the evening as we dim the lights, ignite the candles and welcome local musicians and DJs to our intimate venue to keep the party going all night long. Hire our venue partially or exclusively for the ultimate custom party experience, catering to hen parties, birthdays, staff do's and so much more. Whatever your reason, our events managers will be there to talk one-on-one and find the tailor-made experience that's right for you. Sign up for a cocktail masterclass and get shaking with our mixologists, or hire one of our exclusive lounge rooms for a more private experience. Our dedicated kitchen team are on hand to craft our gourmet canape selection, perfectly designed to pair with our freshest, fruitiest cocktails. We look forward to welcoming you! Central Bar
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It's 'good plus' but not yet 'very good'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Apparently Central Bar is under new ownership, so some of the discount deals may not be available, so I would recommend giving them a call just to check. Also the menu has changed-it's much shorter.

Pleasant downstairs (there are several floors but didn't venture) and the bar is laid out in a high stool 'Wetherspoons' bit at the entrance followed by a dining area which gives over to a 'Starbucks' area-leather settees basically. So the ground floor has good blend to it which is pleasant to the eye with a bar and a coffee machine.

The drinks aren't expensive and they also do cocktails, the food is reasonable (but nothing to get excited about) we had the steak sandwich at £7.95 (fancy with chips and salad), but there again this ain't fine dining, this is £12.00 for a main and a pint. With a discount card it came to about £7.50. Nice touch at the end though-we had a strawberry and chocolate freebie little dessert-nice touch!

We went on a Sunday afternoon (SHE wanted to do Xmas shopping) and the place was steady but not busy. But Bath was rammed with tourists (Bristolians, Spanish and Welsh strangely). So where are they going wrong? Tripadvisor comments are up and down. So I guess it must be down to staffing levels in the evening and crap DJs.

I must admit this is not a place that I would frequent on an evening but in the daytime, for a quiet meal it's worth a punt. Bath is always expensive but the plus side to this place is that a pint kicks in at under £4.00, the food is reasonable and it's handy.

Downers-hence 3.5 and not 4.

They can't cope with 'busy times'. Menu is small but just take it to the next level (hot is good -warm is not good. Salad-make it exciting-I don't get limp lettuce).

As a tourist town Bath has a huge number of eateries for its size and so competition is extremely fierce. I hope this place can develop and survive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lookslikerain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gino M, Manager at Central Bar, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hi thank you for the words and criticism, we take everything on board that is bought to our attention from customers past and present.

As we spoke about on the day, we are recently under new ownership - unfortunatly the menu is not what has been advertised online or on the old website, this is something we are working on to launch from the NY into 2014.

Only the last week we knew about Central being advertised on the Gourmet society card, this is something we did not have to accept but honored it on your behalf.
If there was any issues with your steak baguettes or you were not happy with the quality of salad i wished you would of said something to us and it would of been amended appropriately.

Personally i agree yes Sunday we were steady, usually around 2pm when you both returned is when the lunch time rush is over, i wish you had been in to witness us the same time on Saturday afternoon.

I have to disagree hugely with your opinion of our evening staff and "crap" DJs

Majority of comments for Central were before the August 2013 mark when the venue had been taken over. Our evening trade has been phenomenal as have to the staff and level of service. I would like to invite you both to be guests one evening, witness the staff in action and our "crap" DJs, the cocktails will be on us as will the table for 2 give us a call anytime to confirm a time and date.

Many thanks.

Gino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    3
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a fab night for my hen do!! Staff were all so friendly, good music, dance floor and also room to sit and talk without having to shout
Definitely recommend the place!

Helpful?
Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“1 hour later... still no sandwiches!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I popped in here whilst on holiday in Bath with 3 friends for a quick bite. We ordered club sandwiches and steak baguettes, along with a coke each (nothing difficult). There weren't too many people seated. After 45 minutes of waiting we started to get annoyed and asked where our food was, the waitress said that there was only one chef and they have only recently opened up the kitchen. We waited for a bit longer and noticed a couple next to us hadn't had their food yet either and they ordered their steak baguettes before we even arrived. Fed up, we all decided to leave and just pay for our drinks - which were £2.50 per coke! Will not be returning.. although maybe if we return in a months time there might be a chance of our sandwiches being ready?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LilaDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stumbled across this by pure chance - it was exactly what we had in mind. Good music, beautiful cocktails and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing more than a greasy spoon”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

if you go during the day this place is nothing more than greasy spoon cafe. the food is frozen and rubbish quality. i would.not eat here again. we did not go back.for the evening to see what it was like. but not our scene. sorry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pandora86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Bar also viewed

 

Been to Central Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing