We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family celebration”

The Dower House at Royal Crescent
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dower House at Royal Crescent is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 583 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Dower House restaurant at The Royal Crescent Hotel in Bath –if an English hotel and restaurant have a more perfect setting, we don’t know of it. The frontage of the Royal Crescent is a masterpiece of Georgian architecture and the gardens, where The Dower House restaurant is set are leafy, secluded and lovely. Newly refurbished, The Dower House now features an elegant dining room and a super cool bar as well as a sunny terrace and manicured lawns for romantic al fresco dining. Head Chefs Gordon Jones and Mark Brega have created a modern British menu inflected with Asian and Mediterranean influences. Our pick? The French quail tart with creamed leeks and braised Puy lentils with Pommery mustard thyme sauce.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic family celebration”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We, as a family of 12 with 2 children had lunch on the 23rd. When we arrived the table as not set up as agreed. I expected problems but the young lady responsible took command with little fuss and re built the table to the shape we had requested.
Wines were good value as well.
The cost was more than reasonable for a hotel of this quality and we left extremely happy and contented. We are local and will be back often. Thank you all. Phil Edge

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    37
    21
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing, 3rd year in a row!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Visited again for our 3rd annual Christmas lunch at this wonderful restaurant. The lunch menu is excellent value for money and service was impeccable and very attentive as usual. The setting is stunning and I'd have no hesitation recommending this special place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onwhitehorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just not very good”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just had diner at the Royal Crescent and whilst the food was okay the general level of service was pretty poor. The staff were all nice enough but it seemed like they isn't really know what top flight serviced was all about. I had to ask for drinks repeatedly and for our wine to be topped up, empty glasses were left on the table........ No one opened the restaurant door when we arrived, even though a member af staff walked through it moments before.
Generally it was extremely underwhelming and would explain why, two weeks before Christmas, the restaurant was at bet 30% full. Add to that a £550 bill for 4 people, we only had 1 bottle of wine an some Kir Royales, and you can see why it has left a bitter taste in my mouth.
Shame really as it use to very good here, save your money and go somewhere else because this experience will just frustrate you!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Berkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent service and setting”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

An excellent lunch as usual in a superb setting. The apple based desert in a tumbler could do with a rethink, but other than that the quality food and exceptional service is difficult to fault. The only reason for a 4 rather than a 5 rating is that towards the end of a 1pm start meal, a retired gentleman started setting up an electric piano and keying warm up notes for the afternoon tea session. Two shoppers were first on the scene as concluding diners were merged with scone and jam eaters..................bizarre???

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank needysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Visited daughter at University and she chose venue for lunch. Lovely restaurant, superb food and very reasonable. Will come again with all family. Recommend a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jostony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dower House at Royal Crescent also viewed

 

Been to The Dower House at Royal Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing