We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous place, everything thought of, very close...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Manor Close leading to The Old Stables Freshford Village Bridge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Manor Close leading to The Old Stables
Freshford Village Bridge
Lounge
Dining room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Hallway
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
UKYateses
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place, everything thought of, very close to the station”
Reviewed March 27, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Exactly as described, lovely village location, worth taking the train into Bath as goes right to the centre and driving in always a challenge. Didn't manage to get to the pub as we ate in both nights catching up. Lovely touch providing breakfast, all essentials provided.
Hosts very helpful and flexible. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemma G
2 reviews
“Perfect break just outside of Bath”
Reviewed February 27, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My friends and I stayed for a fantastic weekend break at the Old Stables, Freshford. The cottage is beautiful, with plenty of space, spotlessly clean, comfortable, and with all amenities we could possibly need. We were able to travel quickly into Bath centre using the train, which is about two minutes walk, but we could happily have stayed around Freshford as it is beautiful, with a nearby pub and lovely walks. Wendy and Robin are fantastic hosts, and we really appreciated their extra touches - even leaving us breakfast provisions! Will definitely be returning!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2018
Thank you Jemma. Wendy and I are very happy that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A hidden Gem!!! 10/10”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

15/18th Feb 2018


We frequently travel around the UK and meet up as a family in different places every 3 months and have done for the past 5 years....
And it’s fair to say this was the best one of them all!
The communication from Robin and Wendy was brilliant from the minute we booked to when we left.
We were greeted with a lovely welcome card and essentials to make the stay hassle free!

Freshford village is absolutely stunning, the surroundings are so tranquil and calm yet so close to the heart of bath, a short 9 minute journey on the train which was no more than a 3 minute walk down the hill. Trains run every hour if not 45 minutes all day.

There is a lovely pub called the freshford inn just a little further down about 5 minutes away, along with a shop in the village too.

The cottage has got 3 bedrooms and a bathroom with a lovely shower.

Everything was spotless, very well presented and modern but with a historic feel to it. Towels and bedding provided all of which were super fresh smelling and clean! Iron/hairdryer facilities as-well. Good sized table in the dining area perfect for a hearty breakfast before heading to explore bath!

Overall there’s not a lot more we could of asked for to be honest, faultless from start to finish, great value for money, and I would highly recommend booking this place as the owners have got it spot on!

I’d like to just say Thank you too Robin and Wendy for making it such an memorable stay for me and my Family! We most defiantly will be returning.

(P.s apologies from my brother for having to disturb you when his battery died on his phone lol!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilaryphe...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great new year”
Reviewed January 12, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Perfect destination for a getaway. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts including a welcome basket. The cottage is wonderfully equipped. I took quite a bit of stuff that I thought we might need but found everything we needed was to hand. A great pub, cafe and local shop meant all our needs were met.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRICKIETR...
Welling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed January 12, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Old Stables at Freshford is a great place to base yourself and see the area. Great village pub, and places to visit around nearby Bath. Fantastic walks for the more energetic. Don't miss an opportunity

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect countryside location within easy reach of the city.”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a cosy cottage, perfect for our needs. Very smart and fully equipped. The frequent train service into Bath was brilliant, removing all the potential stress of navigation and parking. It meant we could spend a relaxing day in the historic city and a meal with a bottle of wine without having to drive and navigate back - an absolute gift.
Country walks from the doorstep recommended by the owner were fab, not least because they led us to fab pubs and eateries as well as providing beautiful countryside views.
We would certainly return to this cottage and recommend it to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2017
Thank you Heather for the lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J
1 review
“Ideal Location for Visiting Bath”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a lovely cottage in a picturesque village 10 minutes from Bath by train. The cottage is well appointed, with 3 good sized bedrooms and easily accommodates 3 couples. Communication from the owner was excellent throughout and he was kind enough to leave us some bread, milk, egg and bacon too! The village has a nice pub, and a nice shop/cafe. The station is a minutes walk from the cottage. The price for renting the cottage for the weekend was very good value. The weather was very wet on our visit but not much can be done about that!

Many thanks to Robin for great communication and for being a good host, highly recommended to anyone wishing to visit Bath.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
Thank you David. It was my pleasure to add to your holiday.
Robin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing