We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic and idyllic”
other traveler has booked this property
Fishermen's Retreat has a large master bedroom with a 1200 pocket spring king size bed.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fishermen's Retreat has a large master bedroom with a 1200 pocket spring king size bed.
Elegant design throughout our self-catering holiday cottage. Fishermen's Retreat bedroom has lovely countryside views from the window.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Fishermen's Retreat has a large master bedroom with a 1200 pocket spring king size bed.
Elegant design throughout our self-catering holiday cottage.
Fishermen's Retreat bedroom has lovely countryside views from the window.
Luxury Egyptian cotton linen and towels make sure your cosy stay is a luxurious one.
Large open living area with a dining space by the window views.
Comfy sofas and throws for kicking back and relaxing in the evenings.
The dining area at our cosy traditional cottage.
The living area leads into the kitchen on the ground floor. There is a flat screen TV and iPod dock.
The traditional wood-burning stove is the finest way to relax in the evenings.
Modern kitchen interior in the characteristic setting of our 18th century cottage.
The kitchen is large with all the mod-cons for your self-catering needs.
The bathroom is small but practical with a modern walk-in shower and facilities.
The view of Fishermen's Retreat terrace cottage from the bottom of the garden.
The garden terrace at Fishermen's Retreat is perfect for the afternoon hours in the sun.
The private lower terrace in the cottage garden has BBQ facilities.
Few better ways to enjoy the sunny afternoons than outdoors in the Midford Valley.
Outside dining is the best way to make the most of our self-catering cottage surroundings.
The archway leading into the second half of your private garden, ideal for a little stroll...
Outdoor decor echoes the fine touches of the cottage interior.
The Midford Brook stream runs at the bottom of the garden and there are also fishing opportunities.
The view of the meadows across the Brook at the bottom of the garden.
The welcome sign post to our cosy cottage retreat near Bath.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Angie P
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic and idyllic”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Had a wonderful time in this gorgeous cottage. Tastefully modernised to keep with the cottage. Everything you could wish for and more. Peaceful and relaxing. Beautiful surroundings. Loved the river at the bottom of the garden. 15 mins walk from 2 pubs ate the wheelwright arms very nice.

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliet D
Dorking
1 review
“Cute cottage conceals cosy comforts.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I booked this cottage a little late in the day - we were going to a friend's wedding and couldn't find anywhere else!
I am so glad we stayed in Fishermen's Cottage, though. We stayed 2 nights so could meet up with family the day after the wedding.
The cottage has so many original features & has been very sympathetically modernised to provide all the requirements you would possibly need in a home-away-from-home. The garden is a haven for wildlife & the personal detail provided by the owners make you feel most welcome.
We would like to stay there again. This time for longer, and with the bikes, so we can see more of the beautiful countryside surrounding Tucking Mill.
Thank you!

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H
London
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage. Peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed June 27, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend on the Jubille weekend. The cottage itself is only 10 minutes drive from Bath but located in a tiny tranquil hamlet

The interior had been recntly refurbished and was lovely throughout. The surrounding area was perfect for walking and there are 2 pubs within walking distance.

Overall an ideal place for a relaxing holiday

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bird watcher's paradise”
Reviewed June 2, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Fishermen's Retreat is a cosy well equipped cottage in a peaceful location with the garden leading down to Midford Brook. It is very well situated for lovely walks from the door and within walking distance of The Hope and Anchor at Midford where the food and service were very good. The bird feeders in the garden attracted a variety of birds which entertained us over the weekend, including a Great Spotted Woodpecker to my delight. The owner was very helpful in dealing with my husband's allergies and we were impressed with the welcome basket and the immaculate condition of the cottage.

Date of stay: April 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrsporphr...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed May 17, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in a row of four in a secret valley just outside Bath. It has recently be completely re-furbished and is absolutely immaculate . On arrival, we found a welcome note and a decanter of sherry waiting for us and a vase of flowers from the garden.

The bedrooms were very comfortable and plenty of storage in the double bedroom for all our clothes . I has the little single room which was cosy comfortable and just across the landing from the double so lots of conversations can be had without getting out of bed!

The house has a big, newly planted garden which will mature into a really lovely place. It goes right down to the river where you can fish if you like so bring your rods! Masses of wild birds including heron , which we saw, and kingfishers which we didn't . It rained a lot during our stay but we were quite happy to sit in our pj's and chill. There is a wood burning stove all set up for you but the heating was so efficient that we didn't need.

If peace and absolutely beautiful rural setting is what you want, this is for you. If a lot of fun is what you want,this is also for you because Bath is 10 minutes away and packed with everything a lovely city can offer. Go to Jamies Italian if you get the chance. The Theatre Royal is beautiful and the cinema multi screened and comfortable. We went to the Costume Museum, Roman Baths, American Museum cinema and theatre.

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and comfort
Liked least: Tiny bathroom but it all worked and was immaculate
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ptee
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed May 15, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with my 13 year-old daughter and had a lovely time. Well-equipped, comfortable and cosy, the cottage is located in a beautiful valley and has its own garden leading down to a river. Two pubs within walking distance and lots to do locally - for example, we hired bikes and cycled along the nearby canal to Bradford-on-Avon.

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage was great
Liked least: Over-sensitive smoke alarms
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindelfingen
Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing