We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy and welcoming”
Review of Pennsylvania Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pennsylvania Farm
Ranked #24 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at Ivy cottage for one night and had a very comfortable stay. The owners are friendly, the breakfast was excellent, the cottage was clean and tidy and we have no complaints about anything. We also enjoyed a beautiful walk in the surrounding countryside,taking in the lovely views. It's peaceful, quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virpi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 25 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

When we were not able to book in at our usual B&B when visiting Bath, this came highly recommended and we were not disappointed when we stayed for one night at Ivy Cottage. The cottage is very quirky with original thick stone walls and big old beams which once were the stables to the farm - very charming and delightful if you want to escape the mundane and boring hotels. It was clean and tidy with fresh milk to make a pot of tea on arrival. There are also catering facilities for those wishing to self-cater. The views across the fields are stunning. I don't think I have ever been offered so much breakfast, we had fresh fruit and yogurt and home-made fruit loaf, both were delicious. We could have had cereal too! The full cooked breakfast was perfect - no grease. I would definitely recommend a stay here when visiting Bath.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I really like this B&B - it's near Bath but quiet, cheap, you can park, the people who run it are really nice. It is down a longish high-sided single track road though, so if you meet someone coming the other way you'll have to reverse quite a distance to find a passing place. But that's a detail - this is how B&B's should be.

Room Tip: I had a fourposter with a view out over green valleys - how great is that?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JinnyJones1982232a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very nice B&B, very friendly people, all the charms of a working farm.. The kids are fond of the place, like me, and the atmosphere is absolutely 100%... The surrounding countryside is of a beauty beyond belief.. Have been coming here for many, many years and hope to do so for many years to come!!!
XXX Frank

Room Tip: Any room, they are all perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CloggieZaanstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Pennsylvania Farm this weekend and had a lovely stay. The room we were allocated was very spacious and had a nice cosy feel to it. The room had everything that we could have needed. The owners were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was awesome! We were well catered for and would certainly return.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DJWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We have been staying at this Farm for more years than I care to remember, certainly over 20. Paul & Peggy Foster are warm and welcoming and will do all that they can to make your stay comfortable, the food is excellent (and plentiful!) and the views are stunning. I can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but my favourite is Room 3 - we spent our honeymoon here and the bed is hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I am from Argentina and visited this farm with two friends while travelling about the South of England and Wales in 1994. I just happened to look it up here, to see if it was still around. I liked it and would return, just to look out of the bedroom window and see the beautiful green countryside, with the rolls of hay in the fields. All the views were very beautiful on this real farm, then. Aaaah! And the very narrow English lanes to get there! I see from photos it is still as it was. The breakfast was scrumtious, prepared by the hostess, who was pleasant but quiet. A fond memory.

Room Tip: Facing the entrance on the left, the end one looking over the garden, West, I think. A lovely view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonofHarryPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
158 reviews
0 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
583 reviews
0 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
775 reviews
0 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennsylvania Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennsylvania Farm

Address: Pennsylvania Farm Newton Saint Loe, Bath BA2 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing