We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent French Fare” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro La Barrique

Bistro La Barrique
Ranked #52 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent French Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Took my wife and son here early on Saturday evening. We all took advantage of the "pre theatre" menu, 2 mains and a side dish each. These are almost like Tapas portions and 2 or 3 a person is perfect. The food was all beautifully cooked, tasted great, and we accompanied it with an excellent Merlot.

The waitress was really friendly and helpful and the price was reasonable (for Bath). We would definitely visit again when in Bath.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    229
    63
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“A worthy successor to the Beaujolais”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

After the Beaujolais closed last year, we were wondering would anything ever take its place. Step forward La Barrique.

French father cooking, daughter serving, a French ambiance (but without the disdain), the lunchtime food consists of small dishes - the french equivalent of tapas. Between us we had a wild mushroom flan, snails, game terrine and a butternut squash hotpot. Each was excellent, washed down with a superb Pinot Noir (which, when asked, they served in 125ml quantities even though it was not on the menu). For dessert, we shares a Chocolate St Emilion, which was to die for.

Alas, we no longer live in Bath but visit there every few months. This is our new default restaurant. The King is dead, long live the King.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent French tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Reasonably priced and really delicious petits plats. We liked it very much. Unassuming from the outside but don't be put off.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKPLB, Owner at Bistro La Barrique, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. We are working on 'brightening' the outside of the restaurant, hopefully some sun may help. Very much hope to see you again.
Ann Bistro La Barrique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent Place to Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere was warm and welcoming, the service was spot on and the food was superb. I will certainly return and will recommend this delightful place to friends, colleagues, family and even strangers if they asked.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruddles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKPLB, Owner at Bistro La Barrique, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your glowing review, it is much appreciate and makes a difference to a small restaurant. We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you again in our Restauran
Ann Lemoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
159 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unexpected lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I were visiting Bath for the weekend and unexpectly my wifes cousin and husband decided to travel from Maidenhead to take us to lunch. THey knew of this place and recommended it so off we went. We were not disappointed. Food and service were excellent although it was packed, our waitress sailed through the tables with utmost efficiency and good humour serving lone diners and parties of ladies with similar aplom. THe special menue of 2 dishes plus a side dish was excellent and we were spoilt for choice. Definately a return visit when next we are in Bath

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKPLB, Owner at Bistro La Barrique, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate the time it takes and very glad that our reputation is reaching outside of Bath. We will naturally pass on your comments to our team, who will also appreciate the sentiment. We look forward to welcoming you back to La Barrique.
Ann Lemoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro La Barrique also viewed

 

Been to Bistro La Barrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing