We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Slice of France”
Review of Bistro La Barrique - CLOSED

Bistro La Barrique
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
1 review
“Small Slice of France”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this small restaurant by accident and glad we did. Friendly atmosphere and service with a smile. Small well presented dishes, full of flavour and leaving the mouth watering.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    228
    65
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“All things French are not good!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Tried his one as it has a good tripadvisor rating and I try to use independent restaurants rather than the chains - what a mistake that turnd out to be!
The write up on the history of the owner comng from France, working with some tp chefs all sounded great even if the place looked a little dated and tired looking and in need of a bit of a makeover.
Once the food arrived I realised that looks do indicate the overall state. I ordered garlic bread and olives as a starter - the garlic bread was like brick, over cooked, rock hard, dry and tasteless. I sent it back and what came back was much better - but why did they send out the original one - suggests no-one checks the quality of what goes out of the kitchen. The olives were not much better - very small, like a large peanut and arrived in a bowl of somehting like soup.
The main courses (bit like tapas with small plates) arrived and my seabass had two pieces of fish one cooked perfectly and the other way over cooked so it was dry and hard on the outside. To make things worse the cook had turned the most overcooked side face down on the plate to try to hide the fact - perhaps he thought I wouldn't notice!
The manager (I think the owner from his accent) came over to ask if everything was OK - when I explained it wasn't all he said was he didn't see my dishes go out, no apology or explanantion. I suspect from my experience not many dishes get checked for quality when they go out even after a customer has already sent a dish back.
Overall I was very disappointed. Its not enough thses days for a small restaurant to say its french has a french owner etc - it needs to consistently deliver high standards - there is lots of competition especially in Bath.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNdotK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A reliable restaurant we always use when we visit Bath. Good menu choice, excellent food, friendly staff and good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Relaxed Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Bistro La Barrique is an unusual restaurant: they serve small dishes ("Petit Plats") so that it is a like tapas with French food. We liked this very much, giving the opportunity to try several different things. About two dishes per person plus a couple of sides, or three dishes without sides, is about right. The food came very quickly and was excellent. Having been on holiday to France earlier in the summer our standard for French food was high, but we were impressed. And the restaurant has a very relaxed, casual atmosphere -- not ideal for special occasions for this reason, but ideal for families with older children or for an informal meal with friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSPWDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, food and service”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Went there as a result of Trip Advisor reviews and it measured up in every way. The owner is charming and helpful, the petit plats concept is like a french tapas with bigger portions so 5 are enough for 2 people, the wine selection and prices are good and the central location easy to get to. No hesitation in recommending this bistro.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilWragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro La Barrique also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing