We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return”
Review of Bistro La Barrique - CLOSED

Bistro La Barrique
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will not return”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visited this restaurant on a week night. The food was presented in a very un-appetising manner - I had a beet root dish which consisted to huge chunks of beet root. One dish was sent back to the kitchen. There was nothing served that deserves a complimentary review - and the portions can be described as tiny for the price. Tapas style dining is not an excuse for badly prepared and presented miniature portions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lind51b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    228
    65
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK - but wouldn't got back again”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Went for the lunch deal of 2 small plates and a side for £9.95. We had 2 adults and a toddler so we chose to get 3 deals to share (6 small and 3 sides) and this was barely enough,so the portion sizes would not be adequate for a normal adult.
One of the small plates was cold so had to query it and the waitress sent it back - so this was handled promptly. However, most of the others were only lukewarm which meant they went cold too quickly and being French food and rich and creamy meant they became unenjoyable and sickly.
Service was swift and friendly. Overall I think the tapas style food works out fairly pricy for what you get and there are many better places in Bath to eat that would work out far more reasonable .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasbahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had time to waste and this place was perfect, its not big but definitely has the ambience of a small restaurant in Paris (where I work). The menu is comprehensive but I went to for the lunch deal which was 2 small portions plus a side (I had Terrine and Cassoulet with a salad) for £9.95. The manager at the time was chatty and suggested a great wine as well so I would definitely go back when next in Bath.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Ambiance superb, food excellent, service a tad slow, Olive Oil rancid!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very busy Saturday lunchtime. Menu looked exciting & wine list perfectly rounded. Service although busy was a bit slow, I'm sure our drinks could have been much quicker. Petit Plats of a very high standard of cooking & taste. Well though out menu. We asked for some bread & got some awfully rancid Olive Oil served with it with Balsamic vinegar, what a shame. Small selection of cheeses was excellent too.
90% perfect Bistro experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Friendly staff, gorgeous food and lovely ambience.
We had a lunch here during a weekend in Bath and the food was delicious, the owner was very friendly and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro La Barrique also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing