We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highlight of our trip to bath”
Review of Bistro La Barrique - CLOSED

Bistro La Barrique
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
barnstaple devon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“highlight of our trip to bath”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

visiting bath for a short stay this was the highlight! michel was the perfect host and the food was superb,i could eaten every dish on the menu! just one tiny moan the waitress working that night must have been on a promise because she just whisked away our plates and glasses without checking to see if we had finished, but this would not put me off another visit and i have recommended la barrique to my friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theconstantmoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    228
    65
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurang in Bath”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Om du är ute och söker ett romantiskt ställe i Bath. 
Bistro La barrique, är det rätta stället,  god atmosfär med stearinljus på borden. Trots att restaurangen var fullsatt var det lugnt  och tyst, vilket idag är ganska ovanligt. 


If you are out looking for a romantic place in Bath.
Bistro La Barrique, is the right place, good atmosphere with candles on the tables. Even though the restaurant was full, it was calm and quiet, which is now quite rare.
The menu consists of appetizers type Tapitas Everything excellent and amazing. Each dish costs around £ 7.00, which is well worth the money. A carafe of wine approx. £ 15.00 and a bottle is around £ 25.00. The wine list includes wines up to around 
£ 55.00.
 Despite the fact that the owner is the only serving personnel, floats to quietly and calmly. A place to recommend for those who want a cozy night out at a romantic place. 

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ulf-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pre- Theatre”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our second visit to Bistro La Barrique.
There seemed to be a different ambience this particular night.
It did seem that the pre-theatre bookings are treated differently to the regulars which will make us think twice before going again before the theatre as the difference in treatment from the first experience which was excellent and faultless to the second time was markedly different.
Dishes were excellent and our vegetarian guest had good choices. We could have eaten all the desers many times over, delicious.
Would recommend this restaurant, but perhaps only choose from the main menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalesAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Lovely restaurant with a pleasantly different menu. The dishes are all small so it has a tapas feel to it although the food is French not Spanish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skier045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly service”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We are fairly regular visitors to this French restaurant. You have to know that the dishes are small and so to order a good selection. As vegetarians, we find lots of choice and very tasty food. Good wines too. We are often in a hurry (to see a film or play) and the friendly staff and patron usually cope with this but stay longer if you can and savour the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro La Barrique also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing