We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location - great food”
Review of Bistro La Barrique - CLOSED

Bistro La Barrique
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb location - great food”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We dined at Bistro La B in early October 2012 and had a great time. It was the first night for our waitress, but you wouldn't have known it. It was rather warm on the main level of the restaurant and our request to move to the cooler lower level was quickly accommodated and our waitress cmae with us! The menu was extremely varied and the food was delicious. The restuarant is located in the center of bath just a few step from the theatre. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    228
    65
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great petits plats”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I had a thoroughly enjoyable evening at Bistro La Barrique in October 2012 - good service, great food plus a very pleasant ambience. The host was very welcoming and having a choice of multiple small dishes suited us both. I'd definitely go back there when we next visit this lovely city.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicieux!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This Bistro has a pre- theatre meal which is good value for money and offers a good selection of dishes, but for a small additional charge you can also choose dishes from the specials board. The meals are described on the menu as" Petits Plats", which literally translates as small dishes so don't expect large portions, as the servings are more like Tapas sized ones but every one that we ordered was delicious and moreish!! I would recommend the side dishes of olives and rustic breads with oil and balsamic, which we used as starters and the mains of Chicken, Chorizo and haricot beans and the Sea Bass. The owner is courteous and efficient and the ambience is cosy and inviting with its' candle light. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We regularly visit Bath to go to the theatre and need a fast, light, reasonably priced meal beforehand. Bistro La Barrique is one of our go-to places. Just a few paces up the hill from the Theatre Royal it is a small and friendly independent restaurant offering excellent "petit plats" - French tapas, if you like. The food is always excellent. We are not meat eaters so we can't vouch for that but their fish, vegetables and breads are both imaginative and well prepared.

The service is friendly and efficient. You never have to wait long - a major consideration when you are time-constrained.

There is a wide range of wine that comes by the glass as well as in carafes and bottles - choose their Picpoul if you like a refreshing white that has been carefully chosen to go with their menu.

In the Summer, there is a lovely terraced garden at the back - you might just be in France without the cost of the ferry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Should have been food what went wrong trip advisor?”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Seen great reviews near where we parked what could go wrong? waitress who sent us to empty downstairs in the dark - spent 5 minutes plus down there in the dark until manager sorted it then she forgot the lunch menus leaving us with more expensive al carte and disappeared eventually re-appeared but confused re how it all worked - food was mediocre took us ages to get the bill waitress focused on clearing out table despite being asked for bill twice for it we were desperate to leave, hardly an need to turn over tables the downstairs was a desert. owner / maitre d was pleasant if only he could train his staff and Saturday lunch chef

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro La Barrique also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing