We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Bodhi House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bodhi House
Ranked #47 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in August 2013. This was a last minute booking and having spoken to mostly rude and snotty establishments (who behave as if you are actually doing THEM a favour if you book a room) it was refreshing to speak with Catherine who was very down to earth and friendly. In brief, this B&B is very clean, comfortable beds, great shower and complimentary quality toiletries. Breakfasts are superb and substantial with something to suit everybody. This is served in the open plan kitchen/diner which has a very relaxed feel and does not feel clinical in the slightest as in so many establishments. The B&B may not be located in the heart of Bath but it is literally a very pleasant 20-25 minute walk to the centre. Catherine and her husband - both delightful and might I add funny - even kindly offered to give us a lift. Bath is extremely popular with visitors and as a result B&B's/hotels are never short of clientele and therefore come across as very complacent verging on rude. There are many establishments to choose from in Bath, some are wonderful such as the boutique hotels however you will be hard pressed to find a nicer B&B than Bodhi House with such warm hospitality. Can highly recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrSuperMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 230 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was really disappointed when I searched for availability at Bodhi House only for the results to come back unavailable. I decided to contact the property directly and was delighted when Catherine was able to offer us exactly what we needed. On arrival both Catherine and Jamie were lovely and allowed us to leave our things securely along with dropping us into the centre. During the drive Jamie gave us as much information as possible on what to do, where to go, etc.

The views from the guest house are unbelievable and definitely worth staying slightly out of the centre, there's a table and chairs were we enjoyed a few glasses of wine. The room was perfect, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed - even straighteners!

Now for the piste de resistance - the breakfast. I would highly recommend the breakfast stack. After enjoying a wonderful choice of fruit, cereals and juices watching the jealous faces as Jamie brought my breakfast over was very entertaining. The presentation was amazing and the taste even better, all of the other options look amazing too!

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this place and can't recommend it highly enough. Both Catherine and Jamie couldn't have been any more friendly and the perfect hosts. Don't look anywhere else, unless they are actually fully booked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zarina1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at this B & B in July and were very happy. Catherine & Jamie were very hospitable and couldn't do enough to help us. The lifts into Bath were very helpful as was the information given by Jamie. The breakfast was great and the room was clean and comfortable. The view from our room was really lovely, especially at night with the sunset in the distance. I would highly recommend Bodhi House and would stay again if in Bath.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at Bodhi House for one night during a recent visit to Bath. Even though we arrived in the middle of the day, the owners were incredibly welcoming and gave us a quick driving tour of the city before we started our own sightseeing. The family room was very comfortable, nicely equipped, and warmly decorated. At breakfast, we had a choice of several home-cooked meals with fresh ingredients--each one we tried was fantastic!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Having travelled to bath and stayed over the last twenty years this was a gem of a find best I have ever stayed in. Catherine and Jamie were fantastic hosts nothing to much trouble even gave us a lift into Bath our first evening breakfast was great as much as you could eat all cooked freshly room was lovely and views over Bath were to die for and sitting out in the evening or day was lovely will be staying here in future on the various times I have to visit even though I have stayed in some nice previous B and B this was the best as nothing beats the personal touch which you get from Catherine and Jamie along with everthing else I have said .

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but the ones with the balcony give excellent views over bath and you can sit outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rafferju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

On my visit to Bath this week, I thought carefully about where to stay and chose Bodhi House.

The reviews on Tripadvisor are pretty great and the pricing seemed perfectly sensibly pitched for a summer three day trip for one person. By the way, it's worth booking directly through their own website. I have no association with them and you'll see from my other reviews that I'm a pretty harsh critic. I was glad to have a positive experience...

Catherine and Jamie went out of their way to make me feel welcome. The room was quite spacious with fresh white linens, my towels folded at the base of the bed and topped with two strands of their signature lavender.

The bathroom had a large walk-in shower and Neals Yard toiletries (some of my favourites!). I got settled in really easily and provided input for the morning's breakfast.

Guests are served in the B&B's magazine-perfect kitchen. The colours are soothing, the tables well enough spaced for the private, but close enough for guests to collaborate and share ideas about where to go and how to get there. Breakfast began with a large bowl of fresh fruit and granola and continued with delicious rosemary-scented sausages, a really tasty rasher and properly-made poached egg. Really outstanding quality. Some other guests were sitting outside on the sun terrace so that looked like a nice option for a sunny day.

One remarkable thing which sets this family team apart is their offer to help. Two things stand out. First of all, I was taking a course at the Bertinet Cookery School and they offered to drop me in to the city centre, saving either a taxi fare or parking fees. I took up that offer and saw that Bath's busy centre isn't particularly amenable to out-of-town drivers. So this was a great 'sets-us-apart' feature. Secondly, my poor car suffered a flat tyre and Jamie took my tyre to be fixed while I was out all day. I mean, that's fantastic. He didn't even think twice about it. I came back and he had sorted everything out. He is a real gentleman.

Staying at Bodhi is like staying with the part of your family you don't see often and that you actually really like. You are enveloped in the Bodhi world as a temporary uncle or cousin and made to feel welcome and feel part. One can't but help feel that the children of the house will be terribly well-adjusted due to their exposure to so many different kinds of people and cultures and their confidence in dealing with everyone.

The garden merits a quick special mention... the plants are strewn carefree around the borders and dance in a riot of mellifluous colours. Each evening - in place of a pricy option downtown - I brought back the bread made on my course, plus some drinks and cheese from Waitrose. I felt welcome to do this and make the garden my own.

Bodhi is certainly a place to have a comfortable stay, but also to feel included, well-fed and welcome! Well done them! (See pics and my full review at thepatrickpostDOTcom - all my reviews are fully independent).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a lovely, lovely B&B - after our long journey, we were greeted by a smiley Catherine and a glass of wine. The room was small but very comfortable and very nicely furnished. Our room had a little balcony and a view over Bath. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, freshly cooked when you arrive in the dining room with cereals, yogurts and fresh fruit salad on offer while you wait and a fresh pot of coffee and juice to wash it down.

Catherine and Jamie are lovely hosts and made our stay very comfortable. They also took us into the city on two occasions to save us worrying about parking. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateCartlidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
5.5 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
158 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
583 reviews
3.2 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.2 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
773 reviews
6 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 34 in Bath
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodhi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodhi House

Address: 31A Englishcombe Lane, Bath BA2 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Hotel Class:3 star — Bodhi House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bodhi House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing