We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, mishandled order”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #147 of 567 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: JAMIE'S ITALIAN BATH A partnership between Jamie Oliver and his Italian mentor, chef Gennaro Contaldo, Jamie's Italian has won thousands of fans for its delicious and affordable food since launching their first restaurant in Oxford in May 2008. The Jamie's Italian menu is based on dishes you'd find people eating all over Italy, made with care but delivered without fuss. The family-friendly restaurants are all about serving up rustic, Italian food made using the best possible ingredients, plus fresh pasta that's made on-site every day, and an award-winning children's menu, too. Set in a gorgeous Georgian conversion in Milsom Place, right in the heart of the town, Jamie's Italian Bath is a great spot for midweek lunches, weekend dinners and everything in between. It also has a chic rooftop terrace boasting some amazing views - the ideal spot for al fresco dining on a sunny day. If you're looking to host a private event or a meeting you can also exclusively hire the Georgian room for up to 28 people, or the bright and spacious upstairs area accommodates up to 70 guests.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
256 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“good food, mishandled order”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed the food at Jamie's Italian. We went for lunch and my 11-year old son and I each ordered half portions of pasta dishes and my wife ordered a burger. All of the food came quickly, was hot and fresh, and tasted great. No complaints at all with the food. When the bill came, however, it turns out we were charged for the full-sized pastas. Apparently the full-size portion of pasta isn't very large, because we never suspected that what we were eating was the full portion. It wasn't a big deal and I didn't make a stink over it since we ate and enjoyed what was delivered to us, but it wasn't what we ordered and the waiter merely shrugged it off without doing anything to assist. With better attention to customer service, I could have given 4 stars easily.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAChris33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    754
    474
    346
    197
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were a party of 18 but they were very attentive to our needs. Nothing was too much bother, from dropping off table decorations earlier in the afternoon to calling a bar we planned to visit later to check if busy. The waiter constantly kept a check on water, wine etc. and if everything was okay.
Food was a little different - quite a rustic spin on some traditional dishes and a good variety of seafood, all at a reasonable price. Big thank you for a fantastic experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank escottthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a very enjoyable meal here. Good selection of dishes. Staff friendly and helpful, very knowledgeable about the food. Only disappointment was they didn't have the glace fruit bomb with chocolate sauce which I had eaten last time, was looking forward to another one. Put it back on the menu please.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Islandfamily888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
211 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Solid Experience with good service”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

While visiting some friends who live in Bath, we went for dinner to Jamie's Italian. We asked to be seated upstairs, but inside. It was very warm, but seagulls were flying around. The view is of the rooftops of Bath, but this is definitely the preferred seating area.
Our waiter was very pleasant and went over the specials and explained some of the items on the menu. We started by sharing two planks for appetizers, which were mainly presentation, rather than substance. We then ordered cod, one of the pasta specials - pork and the hamburger (big), plus side salad and chips. We also went with the chianti - a good choice. The food was quite good - the pasta got the best review. The general atmosphere is quite nice, though the tables are close to each other and on a crowded night it might be noisy and cramped. Overall a nice meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“YUCK!!!! Waste of time”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the second time i've been to jamies and the food was bloody awful both times. The waitress was rude. The decor seemed like it hadnt been finished. The tables were too small. The risotto was cold. The chicken was over-cooked. The pasta was chewy

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ladytee93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing