We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Apartment in a fantastic location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
No.1 Manvers Street
Ranked #24 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Apartment in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

The Penthouse Apartment was very comfortable and quiet with all the necessary amenities. Owners provided excellent directions and followed up with a phone call after out arrival. 2nd bedroom had two twin beds which was perfect for us with our two teenagers. Be aware though that there is no lift - you have to carry your luggage up 3 flights of stairs - not a problem for us but could be for others. Great views from the rooms. Coffee machine was very cool - a bit of a challenge to figure out how to operate and keep filled with water (could have been better instructions) but once we had that down it was great. Best part is the location - we arrived via bus which was a very short walk and left via train which was even shorter. Very close by are the Roman Baths and the Abbey, as well as lots of shops and restaurants - groceries are a hundred yards away. A short walk will take you to the Royal Crescent or Pultney Bridge. We spent two full days - our highlights, other than the Baths and Abbey, were the Bizarre Comedy Walk and the Mad Max Stonehenge/Lacock tour.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2tallmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    6
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

We used all of the apartments for a recent hen do, and they are lovely. The kitchen fixtures are gorgeous, and the bedding is all very comfortable. They are all very close to the station, and are so central that we did not have to spend any money on taxis etc during our whole stay.

The people who own the apartments could not be more helpful, and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cievotoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

Really enjoyed our weekend in Bath at the penthouse, clean and comfortable apartment with a great coffee machine, owners couldn't have been more helpful. Really well situated for all Bath has to offer, and a great haven from Christmas shoppers!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

What a location! We were right in the middle of it. Apartment was clean and beautifully decorated in a modern style. Details were great - down to a pint of fresh milk in the fridge for a great cup of coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancingtigga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

We actually stayed in self-catering accommodation next door, and owned by, Abbey Heights Guest House, called Four Abbey Green. This is a family-run business and was very welcoming. The acommodation was fab, so was the location (extremely central). We had everything we needed and more for our weekend stay. Only one small thing would have made it utterly perfect - a shower over the bath in the first bathroom, but this is a very minor niggle indeed, as we could all use the walk-in shower in the other bathroom. Not many apartments of two bedrooms would have two bathrooms anyway! Parking is not easy in central Bath, but the owners gave us plenty of advice, including directions to free parking slightly out of town, but within walking distance, which proved invaluable. We couldn't fault it really and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, only bearing in mind that the apartment is arranged over three floors, starting at first floor level, so might be unsuitable for someone with limited mobility. We would definitely stay there again if visiting Bath and book ourselves in for breakfast at Three Abbey Green!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

My husband and I have traveled extensively through Europe and Abbey Heights was among the best places we've ever stayed. We took our two children, ages 7 and 9, to England for nearly 3 weeks and our time in Bath was the highlight of our trip. The apartment was immaculate, extraordinarily well appointed, extremely comfortable and had beautiful. The owners have paid attention to every detail; they also provided us with much helpful information and were thoughtful, charming hosts. We can't recommend Abbey Heights enough, and will go out of our way to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

Four of us (husband, two teenaged sons and I) stayed here for four nights in the Penthouse apartment. There are two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a comfy living area, as well as a full kitchen and dining area. The flat is beautifully decorated, has every convenience you could want, and has a truly magnificent view over the hills surrounding Bath. It is right in the center of the old city, close to the river. Steps away is a Marks & Spencer with a lovely food court, where we bought provisions for breakfast and lunch. Nearby are loads of excellent restaurants. We saw little of the hosts, as everything was in perfect condition, but they were very friendly and helpful when we did have contact.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#16 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#28 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.2 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
0.1 mi away
Parade Park Town House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No.1 Manvers Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No.1 Manvers Street

Property: No.1 Manvers Street
Address: 1 Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JW, England (Formerly Abbey Heights)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.1 Manvers Street comprises two centrally located, fully modernised apartments with, two double bedrooms and two luxury bathrooms, BOSCH-designed kitchens and large reception rooms on: 2nd floor (Apartment 2 - Bathwick View) and 3rd floor (Apartment 4 - The Penthouse) No.1 Is an historic building, with a clear view to the surrounding countryside, yet within 5 minutes walk of all the main tourist attractions, including The Roman Baths and Thermae Spa, plus the new Southgate Centre is on your doorstep. Transport is excellent in this location, just a short walk to both the railway station and the bus station, with a taxi rank below and a shuttle service to The American Museum/Bath Spa University at Claverton Down. Each apartment has 2 double bedrooms (which can be arranged as twins) and 2 bathrooms. There is complimentary parking and a daily maid service if required. It is possible to arrange two sofa beds in each reception room for additional guests, which we recommend for children. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing