We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Thai food outside of Thailand”
Review of Salathai

Salathai
Ranked #90 of 574 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family run business, serving Thai food in the centre of Bath.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best Thai food outside of Thailand”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A few friends of mine booked a table back in January for my birthday. The minute we stepped in the front door we were greeted with warmth and friendly smiles from the staff. The service was super fast and nothing was a problem with the staff regarding our large order. The food was exquisite, especially the phad thai (highly recommended). I had been to Thailand the previous year and it was on par with the meals I had out there. A truly wonderful restaurant with great grub and super staff, I recommend a visit...even if it's just for the phad thai!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norah125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    112
    37
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A new favourite in a new city!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've recently moved into the Bath area, and are still trying to find our favourite place to eat out - following Midge Ure's advice from an article in the Bath Chronicle, we chose to eat dinner at Salathai, and what a brilliant recommendation he made. To start we ordered chicken satay and spring rolls, followed by the prawn Pad Thai and the Chicken Massaman curry, all delicious and flavoursome - whilst the sticky rice accompaniment with the curry was perfect. This family run restaurant has been our favourite since moving here, friendly and efficient staff, colourful food and full of flavour. We have already planned a trip back with some friends next week. I would definitely recommend it here, we had a brilliant evening & haven't stopped thinking about the food since!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlawson2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If that's Thai food maybe they should visit Thailand!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We visited Salathai last night for the first time and we were appalled by the poor quality of the ingredients, the tiny portions and the really bad cooking. We had pretty much standard Thai dishes such as green curry and Pad Thai and they were both terrible. The rice was probably heated in a microwave, the noodles in the Pad Thai were stodgy and the prawns were overcooked from frozen. The green curry sauce could be out of packet, no authentic flavours and it was very watery.

Considering that those dishes are Thai classics they should be cooking them perfect. We only tried them to test the ground and we were shocked. We can cook green curry at home on a Monday evening within 15 minutes from scratch without opening any packet 100 times better than that. Only positive we can give to them is the service which was good and pleasant. Other than that I think they either need to visit Thailand and remember how tasty Thai food is or simply listen to people who know how authentic Thai food should taste like.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dimitriTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal for Reasonable price”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited the restaurant last Saturday. It was failry busy, even for 6pm, but the staff were friendly and courteous. They were willing to allow us to order the basic set meal for 3 people even though there were four of us (our daughter is 13 so not sure how much she would have eaten).

The food came really quickly and was delicious. The wine - per their recommendation - was also excellent.

Would definitely visit again when next in Bath and would recommend this to all

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Decent food and good service”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Food was pretty good, although pad Thai was a bit bland. Starters were excellent and came promptly. Service was good. Decor is a bit uninspiring but nothing wrong with it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NormanWhiteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salathai also viewed

 

Been to Salathai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing