We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B in a perfect location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #8 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane
1 review
“Charming B&B in a perfect location!”
Reviewed October 15, 2006

We recently stayed in Lilliput Court at Three Abbey Green. The entire atmosphere of this B&B is very warm and friendly. Derek and Sue were great hosts! Derek gave us wonderful recommendations about what to do during our stay in Bath. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty and filling. We will definitely stay here again for our future visits.
Daryl & Lisa, Spokane, Washington

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank DarylandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    99
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
308
504
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bath
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2006

Yes indeed-we booked after picking up a leaflet as we walked passed in 2005. Our room was exellent, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean and fresh. The facilities were ideal and we had endless cups of tea
Breakfast was delicious with lashings of hot tea and toast. Little extras like being able to leave our bags until our departure time made it really special. The busy city centre atmosphere didnt bother us infact it added to the charm.
We had a great stay, full marks from us! Da iawn
The Daughters and their Mum. x

  • Liked — The nice made rooms and nice atmosphere
  • Disliked — the fact that the spas were shut when we came.
  • Tips/Secrets — book qucic,
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bathstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2006

Went to Bath for a long weekend at the end of October. I used this site and decided upon Three Abbey Green due to the great reviews and we were not disappointed at all. I felt I had to write my own review as it was such a help to me. We booked the Lord Nelson Suite as a bit of a treat and it certainly has the wow factor!! The B&B is perfectly located for all sight seeing and shopping on foot, the Baths and Abbey are literally a couple of minutes away - if that. Derek is a great host and most helpful with local information or for anything you might need during your stay. I would definitely recommend anyone stay at this B&B, we loved it.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brandy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Last weekend I stayed in the Asher Suite at the Three Abbey Green guest house in Bath with three friends. We had such a warm welcome and Derek, the proprietor was very helpful. His recommendations, from restaurants to things to see and do, were excellent.
Three Abbey Green is in a fantastic location, right in the centre and just round the corner from the Abbey.
Our large room was very comfortable and the spacious bathroom was spotlessly clean.
The breakfast room was modern, clean, light and airy , the menu offered ample choice and our breakfast on both days was very good.
Bath is a beautiful city, with so much to see and do, and Three Abbey Green is a wonderful place to stay, full of character. We shall definitely return.

  • Liked — the character
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton & Hove, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2006

I stayed at Three Abbey Green when I took my mum to the newly-opened Spa. Loved Three Abbey Green so much I am staying again next month - a Spa treat for a girlfriend's 50th - and will be back in the new year with my husband. (So, OK, there is a midweek special running from November to February - two nights + third night half price - my old man already knows I am cheap!!!) Everything about the place - from book baskets in the bedrooms full of stuff you meant to read but never had, to beautiful decor (e.g. gorgeous ice grey carpets) to some lovely pieces of furniture - was brilliant. Being a 3 min walk from the Spa was also good news - Three Abbey Green really central: point your nose out of your window at night and there is Bath Abbey lit up. . . However, having said all this - and actually I should have said much more because the place is seriously good news - I have to admit the biggest part of Three Abbey Green's appeal was the family: Sue, Derek and daughter Nici. Sue is a mini-tornado of perfection; Nici a mini-Sue; Derek (ex. company director) as happy to discuss share prices as he is the best restaurants in town; while grandson Finlay sticks with the day job . . . he has just started nursery school! Sue and Derek are a sort-of up-market Sybil and Basil Fawlty - the difference being they are truly international in outlook and Three Abbey Green is definitely NOT Fawlty Towers! Finally, a word about mini-Sue, Nici. Think funny intelligent blond - and then consider while she's chatting away at breakfast as if she hasn't a care in the world, her husband is serving in Kandahar. As one of Three Abbey Green's guests - a Texan businessman - said to me (under beautiful tree outside while he had a cigar: Three Abbey Green is non-smoking) - 'You couldn't make it up'. You can't. Try the place out for yourself. It's brilliant. You will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Proximity to spa
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Tips/Secrets — If visiting Bath Spa take extra towels and something to read.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CorinneJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2006

We stayed in the Lord Nelson Room. It is a beautiful room with a canopied bed overlooking a square containing a 300 year old maple tree. Derrick and Sue (owners) and Maria (caretaker) are never short of helpful suggestions, and take a personal interest in your stay. The B & B had a good wireless internet connection that was complimentary. Breakfast was cooked to order, tasty and plentiful. We had a brief problem with the shower which was fixed quickly. Also the loveseat in our room was a bit threadbare. Derrick suggested we go to nearby Glastonbury by bus, and that turned out to be the highlight of our stay in Bath. The B & B has a perfect location, a few steps to the Roman Baths and Bath Abbey. One additional note, we took the Bizarre Bath Walking tour and had a great time. For a B&B stay in Bath, this was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Michaelbw1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2006

My wife and i recently spent four nights in Bath, it was for her fortieth birthday so i had spent some time prior to booking searching for the best reviews. This had by far the best reviews so i went with it. On the day of arrival we turned up and were greeted by Maria who quickly checked us in and told us exactly were to go for the free parking, a walk of about 15 minutes. But seemed like five as you were walking through the most beautiful surroundings. Otherwise parking is limited and very expensive. The B&B was beautiful, we had the Lord Nelson room, which had the four poster bed, two sofas, TV hair dryer, tea coffee and biscuits a trouser press was also in the room, the only negative for me was the bathroom, which was a shower room with a standard sized round shower tray which for a larger gentleman like myself was a bit small, other than that i could not fault the place. The room was at the front and looked out onto the beautiful green. We went for a walk around and the abbey and roman baths whichreally were only 100 yards away, we could not have been better situated for everything. There had been a couple of comments about noise, we had no issues at all until our last night which was the night of the A level results when every 18 year old was out celebrating, there is a pub opposite and at 11.30pm there was a bit of noise but this had finished by midnight, given the location this was much less than i would have expected from a town centre location

The following morning we met Sue the owner at breakfast, she could not have been more helpful providing a map of all the restaurants and personally recommending a few. This was the pattern for the week asking about our previous day and suggesting things for the day ahead. the breakfast was well cooked and presented lovely, the salmon on scrambled egg was exceptional. And the toast and coffee kept on coming. The coffee was a godsend the morning after my wifes birthday.

The One fish Two fish restaurant was amazing, Sue is a friend of the owners and was more than happy to ring and make a reservation. It is a small cellar converted into a restaurant, the owner Katherine was lovely and despite being rushed off her feet, still made time to talk to the customers and it felt like you were a friend not a customer. I had the fishcakes as a starter from the specials board and they were fabulous, the whole meal was exceptional and my wife and i were only sorry we did not have the chance to get back before we left. If you are in Bath you must eat here!!!.

Also the Eastern Eye Indian restauarant in the town centre, which was not on the list provided by Sue, but was recommended by her. Again the staff were very friendly and the restaurant is amazing it is an old casino and has the appearance of having domed roof windows. It was also well priced.

If visiting the roman Baths do so at night the image will stay with you for ever it is like a movie set, you can almost imagine Russell Crowe walking past you.

Another must is be outside the Huntsman pub at 8pm and join the Bizarre Bath comedy walk. £7.00 an adult in the rain almost put us off, but we were already there so we went ahead. The night we went was a charity night and all monies were handed straight to a rep from a nearby Hospice which was a very nice touch. The Rain stopped after about 30 minutes but by that time we did not care we were laughing too much. The walk involved audience participation. Passers by were not immune to a barracking either. If you do nothing else when in Bath then do this walk.

We visited the new thermae spa baths which had opened the week before, we had pre-booked and it was a good job, as there were no treatments available that week. the spa was lovely although there were still a few teething problems.

Anyway i am rambling, i will be rushing back to Bath and will be staying at Three Abbey Green.

  • Liked — location was perfect
  • Disliked — small shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at one fish two fish, and take the Bizzare Bath comedy tour
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry&Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.2 mi away
Harington's City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Property: Three Abbey Green
Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). We also have a beautiful one bedroom self catering apartment, Abbey View, if you would prefer to cater for yourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath
3 Abbey Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing