We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We chose wisely...”
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #9 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We chose 3 Abbey Green for its location, but it was absolutely perfect in every way. It's close enough to whatever you might want to do in Bath that you can pop back to your room to rest when the crowds get to be too much, and it's situated in a very pleasant and very quiet little square. There are many nice pubs, restaurants and shops literally within throwing distance. The owners were lovely, with suggestions on what to see (and the best time to go to avoid crowds) and where to eat, or just to have a chat. It was home away from home for us for four days and we loved it. Many thanks, Nici and Alan!

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so be prepared to carry your bags upstairs if you don't get a room on the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed having you both to stay. Bath has a lot to offer and we love to share our knowledge of the city - and learn some new information from our adventurous guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed for nights over a weekend in June. What a great place - we had the Lilliput room which gave us a veiw of the Abbey. Sue, Allan and Nicki where such good hosts and the breakfast was to die for. I could not recommend this highly enough. If you got to Bath you must stay here. Apart from the above it is right in the centre of Bath and its a short walk to everything. Loved it!

Room Tip: Going by the attitude of the owners I think any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemm_MV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Brilliant - thank you for this review. We are all very happy you had such a good time in our city centre location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed one night in the "treetop" room and wished that we could have stayed longer. Everything was exactly what we were looking for---location, comfort, hosts, staff and food were all excellent. Alan helped us travel directions on the morning that we left which we really appreciated. Emma was wonderful getting us checked in and with information and recommendations. The staff was friendly and easy to chat with as we came and went. We have already recommended this guest house to others during the remainder of our vacation in the UK, and will continue to do so. This will be the first place that we book when we come back to Bath.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for all your kind words. We hope to see you again on a return visit to Bath in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

What a perfect place from which to visit Bath and all of the sights in this area of England. Accommodations so comfortable, bathrooms lovely, and a location that is simply perfect! Breakfast cooked to order and all requests were handled in the most gracious and kind manner. Owners were delightful and provided us with really excellent suggestions of where to go, what to see, restaurants etc. Their love of their city was obvious. If you have the chance to visit this UNESCO city, don't hesitate to stay here

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are perfect for travelers who don't want to deal with stairs. The house is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishMom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We also think our UNESCO city is a 'must' on any trip to Great Britain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

3 Abbey Green is a beautiful guest house, with stunning décor, a fabulous location and a welcoming host. It is in the perfect place for visiting all the main attractions in bath, with the Baths, the Abbey and Sally Buns all just round the corner. It is peaceful at night despite the central location. The rooms are very spacious and the bath rooms lovely. Breakfast was great, with lots of locally sourced products. Would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone wanting to visit bath.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, making the most of our central location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

From the moment I booked Three Abbey I knew the hotel would be great. Sue was super efficient and extremely helpful. During our stay she couldn't have done anymore to make us feel welcome or help us. The hotel is in a superb location and all the rooms and beautiful and kept to a high standard. The breakfasts were amazing and no request was a hassle. I know my friends and I will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilian11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We love to make a fuss of our guests so it's wonderful to hear that we did a good job for you. We're in an ideal spot to explore Bath however long you choose to stay - we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Very warm welcome when we arrived. Very friendly and helpful owners/staff. Rooms are simply but decently furnished, with comfortable beds, though nothing special (maybe the suites are more impressive). Bathroom was sparkling clean and functional with a good strong shower, rather than luxurious. No toileteries, just liquid soap, which seemed a bit utilitarian. No lounge area, so you are either in your room, or in the breakfast room or out. Breakfasts are curious in that the cooked items are really well done, with great bacon and sausages, but the cold buffet is lacking in imagination and, frankly, generosity. No prepared fresh fruit, limited choice of juice...tinned grapefruit every morning is just uninspired. Their fabulous central position in Bath means they can justify high room rates without trying too hard. You are paying for location, and it is probably worth the price to be so close to everything, so I would recommend it, but don't expect too much. It's a perfectly nice, well run guest house, but not an amazingly memorable one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannylovespebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

I'm glad to hear that you felt warmly welcomed during your stay, thank you for taking the time to review. As a small family-run bed and breakfast, we feel it is important to make as much information as possible about the guest house itself and the service we offer, available on our website, so that our guests know exactly what to expect when they stay with us. It sounds like you feel we could have done better in some areas, in which case we can only apologise and express regret that you did not voice your concerns to us in person. I hope that you enjoyed your stay nonetheless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 155 in Bath
1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $131 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). We also have a beautiful one bedroom self catering apartment, Abbey View, if you would prefer to cater for yourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Abbey Green
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing