We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb City Center Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #9 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb City Center Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Three Abbey Green Hotel is a beautifully presented classic, Georgian styled Bath city center hotel. Our stay here was faultless with our first floor room overlooking the cobbled square outside. The breakfast was superb. Nothing to say but lovely.

Room Tip: Overlooking the square is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcoappraisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Such praise is music to our ears - though it gives us a lot to live up to for your next visit! We strive to make every guest's time here both memorable and relaxing and are glad to hear that we succeeded for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    99
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
305
498
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Booking was easy and we had a very enjoyable one night stay. The owners are friendly and helpful, the room lovely and the breakfast scrummy. We will return when we can to this well located and comfortable b&b.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear that your visit, however brief, ticked all the boxes. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay a bit longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells Uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I needed somewhere to stay that was within walking distance of a music "gig" that I was keen not to miss and alighted upon Three Abbey Green.
Firstly their on line booking system was clear and easy to use and I received a prompt and friendly response by e-mail.
Upon arrival I was met by Nici in the most warm and friendly way and shown immediately to my delightful ground floor en suite room (the Lady Hamilton) which was bright well furnished and lovely and warm on a cold January day.
The en suite shower room was pristine and very modern with a wet room floor, good mirror wall and intelligent lighting (in addition to the switch controlled main lights there are low level motion sensor lights that do not blind you during that middle of the night quick nip to the loo !)
As a single occupancy I was offered the option of the room being set up with twin single or a king size double. I chose and enjoyed the double and enjoyed a comfortable night.
Breakfast choices are plentiful and Nici's prompt and friendly attention complemented the excellent quality of the food.
The central location at the heart of all Bath's historic buildings and attractions I am sure would benefit many. For me this was a one night stand that will make Three Abbey Green my first choice when visiting for whatever reason.

Room Tip: The ground floor room that I had was, of course, closer to outside noise at the end of the evening a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteRustington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and for taking the trouble to write in such detail about your experience. When you come back for your next visit, maybe for the Bath Music Festival at the end of May, you must try another room. They are all individually designed, so no two rooms are alike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I escaped London for the weekend, and we could not have been more thrilled with our stay at Three Abbey Green. We stayed in The Lord Nelson - a stunning room with a beautiful four poster and a gas fire in the room. Three Abbey Green is a family-run B&B, and every effort is made to make your stay special and for you to feel welcome from the moment you book your room. The breakfast was delicious - everything was sourced locally (so locally, in fact, that I think Derek's sister makes the jam and marmalade too!) and the location could not be better. All in all, we loved every moment of our stay in Bath, and we will recommend Three Abbey Green to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: We highly recommend The Lord Nelson
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you Harry for such a glowing review. It gives me such a lot of pleasure to see our guests having a leisurely relaxing breakfast, before enjoying all that Bath has to offer right on our doorstep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We came up from London for a long weekend with our young children and stayed in the Asher Suite. We loved this little hotel and rate it excellent for a number of reasons:

Cleanliness and comfort: our rooms and bathroom were spotless (I'm a bit OC about this sort of thing!). I think it had been refurbished over Christmas and it was wonderful. The beds are so comfortable that we found it hard to get up in time for breakfast.

Friendliness: from the moment I booked online I had a personal rapport with the hotel. Sue could not have been more helpful in the days leading up to our visit, with her prompt responses to my annoying emails about child-friendly events and which pubs serve the best real ale etc! When we arrived, we received a lovely welcome from Nicki and from Sue and Derek at breakfast, which must be no mean feat when they must see so many people.

Location: Could not be better. We previously stayed at The Queensbury (pre-children!) but much prefer the location of 3 Abbey Green. It is quite a thrill walking out of the front door and seeing that huge plane tree and the Abbey.

Our only tiny quibble is that 9.30am is quite early for breakfast to finish on the weekend when on holiday. We struggled to make it. But, we are quite a lazy family on the weekend, so don't let that put you off!

Thanks so much Sue, Nicki and Derek!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
It is really rewarding to read such enthusiasm and to hear how much fun you had in Bath. As a small family business, we love having families to stay and to see you enjoying all that Bath has to offer - and, like you, every time we go into our beautiful Abbey Green square outside the front door, we feel excited by the beauty of our location. So sorry breakfast seemed a wee bit early but just to clarify, we only ask you to be in the dining room by 09:30. You can take as long as you like savouring the experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

This is fabulous place to stay in Bath, a great location for all the historic sights or if you fancy shopping Marks & Spencer and all the High Street shops just around the corner. There is a quaint tearoom next door and a pub/restaurant across the square. The owners are very welcoming. Would recommend scrambled egg for breakfast, it was the best I ever tasted.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We think breakfast is a really important meal, so although our menu may not match the choice offered by a hotel, we do aim for it all to be hot, steaming and bubbly, having been freshly prepared - and I'm very proud of our scrambled and poached eggs. Also our very central location means we have a wide choice of excellent independent restaurants on the doorstep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This is a gem of a guest house. The room is clean and comfortable,i would love to stay in one of the themed rooms they look great! There is everything you need with a good selection of drinks in the room. The bathroom is clean and has a great shower. Breakfast is lovely and i was greeted by the owners at brekfast and made to feel welcomed. The service is great and when i had to access something on the internet,derek was only too happy to help! I wish this guest house offered a light supper, I would happily have paid more as its not easy finding a good restaurant in an unfamiliar city. All in all I will definatly reccomend and will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaja011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
The family is delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, though we are all wondering who checked you in. A very important part of the check in, as well as locating you in Bath, is to help you find a choice of restaurants to suit you. We love food and have many suggestions of independent restaurants, frequented by Bath locals. So, if you are able to come back to stay with us, we will make sure we do a better job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.2 mi away
Harington's City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Property: Three Abbey Green
Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath
3 Abbey Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing