We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #9 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

If your thinking of booking the 1 bedroom apartment "Abbey View " which is part of the B & B Three Abbey Green - you will not be dissappointed! I wasnt really looking for an apartment style of accommodation at our time of booking but the B& B was fully booked and this was available for our 4 nights we had in August -WOW am I glad we did, it was gorgeous.... the ambience of the apartment was immediate apon arrival .Tall windows with beautiful white shutters and plenty of natural light .Furnished perfectly with comfit in mind.Not to mention the little things that the owners have seemed to think of !Location is perfect .Owners exceptionaly friendly and very happy to help out in any way.My husband and I spent four nights in Bath for my special "big " birthday and our accommodation couldnt of being more perfect. Sue Derek Nici and Alan thanks so much for everything , we hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VBPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review; it's great to hear that we helped to make that special birthday even more memorable! One of the best things about opting for self catering accommodation is that sense of having a home away from home - especially when you stay long enough to really relax and take in everything that Bath has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    99
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
305
498
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I've visited Bath many times but never stayed overnight. We wanted accommodation that was close to the Abbey and you couldn't get any more perfect than Abbey Green. This is a high-end B & B that is reflected in the quality of furnishings, the generous size of the rooms and the outstanding location. The rooms look directly out onto the small park and despite its proximity to the hub of the town, it is very tranquil. In a hotel/B & B that is outstanding, there are a couple of things of which travellers should be aware. Rooms are spread over an number of floors and the stairs are fairly steep and narrow. If you have any mobility problems, request a room on a lower level. Secondly, there is no parking around the accommodation. If you are lucky you might get a spot for unloading of bags. There is a public car park that is about a 5 minute walk away and quite reasonably priced. All of this information is explained on their website but it something that may influence some travellers. Apart from this, you'd find it difficult to fault such a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better outlook but the stairs are steep. Request a room on a lower level if drag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onward64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review; it's great to know we helped to make your first overnight stay in Bath an enjoyable experience! As Three Abbey Green is a listed building, we are sadly limited in what we can do to improve ease of access to rooms on the upper floors; though it's good to know that the view made up for the climb in your case - and we are always happy to help carry bags, it keeps us fit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in May and it was our second stay. We love this place. It is elegant,clean, quiet, friendly and very well situated in Bath. Very near to the Abbey and just about anything you want to see in Bath. It is 5 minute walk to the bus and train so well situated for arriving and departing and any day trips. Breakfast was excellent, always had the "full English" and ready in minutes. We are already planning our next visit. There is so much to see in this part of England and Three Abbey Green for us is trip central.
BTW, we took a bus to Bath from Heathrow in a little over 2 hours if I remember correctly and the a short walk.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street may be a little less quiet but we didn't notice. Great atmosphere, thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandpa-ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
How lovely to hear that you're already planning your third visit to us! catching up with returning guests is one of the very best things about what we do; it's like having friends from all over the world. We're lucky our location is so close to all the sights and amenities central Bath has to offer - and we're looking forward to being your base again when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Three Abbey Green gave us a great stay right in the city center, barely two blocks from the Bath Abbey and the famous Roman Baths. The rooms were really nice, comfortable, and well appointed and the atmosphere was perfect and romantic. We stayed in the ‘Elizabeth Bennet’ room in the annex building, just next door.

Breakfast was fabulous - tasty, hot, well prepared, and plentiful. The hosts, Sue and Nici, their husbands, and employees, gave us every comfort we needed, plus travel tips, maps, and advice.

A superb location in a great B&B in a fabulous spot. I’m quite certain when we return (and we will) we’ll stay at Three Abbey Green in the magical city of Bath, England.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
It's always a joy to hear guests planning to return so soon after their stay with us - we love knowing we've made a good impression! I'm glad the romance of Elizabeth Bennet appealed to you - as the Jane Austen Wing is a relatively new addition to the guest house, we're always thrilled to hear what guests think of our new rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked a three night stay in the Penthouse of the serviced apartments last minute. Sue was very quick to respond to any questions that I had and the family/staff was very welcoming when we had arrived. The directions on how to access the apartment was very clear and well thought out.
The apartment was very clean and decorated to high specifications, with top of the line Bosch appliances. I cooked a lot during our stay and didn't lack for anything in the kitchen. We were well warned that the building did not have lifts and at 6 months pregnant, I was a bit ambitious to book the top floor - ok for any fully able bodied people though.
The location was very central and near the Bath rail station as well as right next to the new shopping complex, with a Sainsbury Local just 2 minutes away.
We walked over for a visit at the main B&B and that was lovely too, in a square with the giant lush tree. When we left, the lovely cleaning staff even helped carry down luggage for us and promptly mailed back our laptop charger that we left!
Would visit again any time, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0unggrassh0pper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your time at the Penthouse, thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review. The Penthouse and Bathwick View are in a listed building, and those lovely high ceilings can make the stairs a bit of a challenge - though I try to think of it as a free workout! It's lovely to hear the climb didn't detract too much from the rest of your stay - and that you made such good use of the kitchen, too. Having a home-cooked meal while you're on holiday really is the best of both worlds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter for a long weekend in August, and would highly recommend Three Abbey Green! We stayed in the annex (Elinor Dashwood Room) and it was quiet, clean and in the best possible location that you could wish for. Sue was very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast was amazing! Thank you for making our stay special. We will definitely re-visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We've had a few mums and daughters visit us recently, perhaps word is getting around that we're the place to go for a girly getaway! It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay - and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was treated to a night here by my husband for my 'big birthday' and he couldn't have chosen a better spot - the location was brilliant, and Alan was so welcoming from the second we arrived. My husband said that Nici had been a mine of information - she recommended a lovely restaurant for us to have our pre-theatre dinner at - and a bar for afterwards. We had a wonderful stay - in very comfortable beds, and spotlessly clean room/bathroom. Only negative is that due to its central location some may find the noise from the pub opposite/buskers in the square/revellers heading home a bit annoying, but I suspect that it was only a (very minor) issue because the windows were open on a perfect summer's evening/morning! Breakfast was delicious, made from local produce, and the homemade marmalade was delicious. Thank you to the team for a very special stay!

Room Tip: We were in the 'Jane Austen' wing and had the Elizabeth Bennett room which faces the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
It sounds like your birthday treat was a big hit, I'm so pleased that we were able to help make it special! Sadly, noise can sometimes be an issue here in the centre of the city, though it helps to know that it didn't spoil things for you - it's hard to resist leaving Elizabeth Bennet's lovely sash windows open isn't it?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.2 mi away
Harington's City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Property: Three Abbey Green
Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath
3 Abbey Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing