We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Make a Mistake With This one”
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #9 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't Make a Mistake With This one”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at 3 Abbey Green for 2 nights in early June in the “Westwood Suite” The suite included an alcove with a twin bed to accommodate an additional person. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The location could not have been better. It is right behind the Abbey and the Roman Baths in the center of the town. The Westwood Suite was large and fronted the street which could be a problem under certain circumstances with noise from the street. However, during our stay we had no major problems with noise. The staff is very friendly and eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The breakfast was first rate and promptly prepared to order. Water is available to guests from a mini-fridge outside the breakfast room as well as a computer for guest use and WI-FI was freely available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
The Westwood Suite is a lovely room; I'm pleased it suited you so well and that you had no problems with noise. It is the only potential downside to booking a ground-floor room, which we hopefully offset by providing earplugs. Thank you for taking the time to review and making such positive comments. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    100
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
317
520
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our first trip to Bath, and we couldn't have been happier with our accommodations. First of all, the guesthouse in is one of the prettiest locations in the city. It is quiet, yet just steps from the Abbey and the city center. The rooms were large, immaculate, and well appointed. The breakfasts were outstanding, and our hosts couldn't have been any kinder. Thank you for making our trip to England such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I'm glad we have had such a positive impact on your first visit to Bath - the first of many I hope! We pride ourselves on our personal service and it means a lot to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My two grown up daughters and I had a wonderful 3 day girls-only break at Three Abbey Green at the end of May. I cannot fault the service, comfort and convenience of this gorgeous guest house. We stayed in the Asher Suite which was huge and comfortable for the three of us. When I booked by phone Nici was extremely helpful and she had recommended this room as being the best option for us. Sue could not have been more helpful and friendly during our stay, recommending restaurants, lending us a parking permit and generally making us feel at home. I will definitely be back and will recommend this lovely place to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Anne_M198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your kind words. Bath is a great place for a girlie getaway - so much pampering, so many shops, so little time! We look forward to seeing you again - maybe even bring the boys with you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at Three Abbey Green with friends last weekend. It was my first trip to Bath and both the city (amazing!) and the accommodation lived up to my anticipation. The location couldn't be better - quiet yet in the heart of the action. The staff were so friendly and helpful in their suggestions of what to do, where to eat even reserving tables for us. The house itself was elegant without feeling fussy, and our room was comfortable; breakfast was of high quality and tasty. A lovely weekend that will live long in the memory!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
It's a real joy to hear that we have helped to make good memories for you and the rest of your group - especially on your first visit to the city! There's always so much to do in Bath, you will have to come back again and stay a bit longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grinnell, IA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband, parents, and I stayed at the sister property, Four Abbey Green, for a week in Bath. The location was perfect---even with my bad sense of direction, it was impossible not to find my way back "home", which I did eagerly every evening (and sometimes during the day, when I wanted a quick break). The layout was perfect for two couples---my parents had one floor with their own private bath, my husband and I stayed on another floor with our private bath, and we shared the kitchen/living area. With the Marks and Spencer food hall literally around the corner, it was easy to make some of our own meals.

The kitchens and bathrooms are completely up-to-date and well-equipped. There were thoughtful touches such as US-to-UK electrical adapters and TV instructions, two things which I have found rarely during my visits to the UK. Absolutely everything was spotless---I have never stayed in such a clean accommodation.

We appreciated the orientation to Bath which our host gave us, and when we had any questions, our hosts were immensely helpful. I highly recommend staying at Four Abbey Green, and if my husband and I are in Bath alone, we will be sure to stay at Three Abbey Green in the future. I cannot say enough good things about our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_Grinnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for your kind words Karen, it's great to hear you all had such an enjoyable stay. You must have felt like proper locals by the end of the week! We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the UK - but if you want to book Four Abbey Green again you'd better make it soon… After 7th July the apartment becomes part of the guest house as the Jane Austen Wing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Three Abbey Green was all we could ask for. Our room was on the third floor and overlooked a charming courtyard. The room was quite large, spotless, and the shower was ample and the water hot! The entire staff went beyond the call of duty to make our stay perfect. The breakfast that is included had many choices, and was delicious. When we arrived, Sue sat down with us and gave us suggestions of restaurants and sites to see. Thanks for the Bizarre Bath Bath tip. It was a riot. It is also close to all major attractions.
Thank you Sue,Alan Nici, and Emily for all that you did to make our stay perfect.

Mark & Peggy Rosenhaft

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peg599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remarks - it really makes our day to hear that we are doing a good job! It was our pleasure and we hope to see you again next time you visit the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a charming place to stay in Bath. The location could NOT BE BETTER--on a lovely little square, one block from the Roman baths and two blocks from the new Thermae Bath Spa. The room was spotless and comfortable, with a beautifully remodeled bathroom. The people who run the inn could not be nicer or more helpful, and the breakfast, made to order, was the best full English breakfast we have ever had. All the ingredients were fresh, and the organic apple juice and home-made marmalade and jam were real treats. After our long flight from SFO, we like to regroup in Bath for a couple of days to get over our jetlag. The spa wasn't open the last time we were in Bath, but this time we went to the spa. It was nothing like the spas I have been to at home, less of a meditative experience and more of a party atmosphere for a lot of young people. But still, we went back to the inn totally relaxed, slept soundly, and pretty-much recovered from the flight by the next day. Bath, of course, is a charming place in its own rights, and the Roman baths are a sight well worth seeing. Overall, we love Bath and hope to return, and we would stay at the Three Abbey Green again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
It's great to hear you have such fond memories of your stay with us and I'm glad you enjoyed the spa - it's such a temptation having it so close by, I'd go every day if I could!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,766 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Property: Three Abbey Green
Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). We also have a beautiful one bedroom self catering apartment, Abbey View, if you would prefer to cater for yourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Abbey Green
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing