We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #9 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This place is outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed here last year after wandering the streets looking for somewhere on spec - we were offered one of the bigger rooms at a discounted rate and we're so glad as this place is a real find. This time we prebooked and stayed in the Trafalgar room which has a huge four poster bed, a settee and chairs and a view over the green, it's right in the centre of Bath but it's so quiet! The service on arrival and during breakfast and checkout was warm and friendly, the rooms are clean and beautifully decorated, there's a bookshelf if you find yourself without suitable reading material and a computer for guest use, not to mention the free wi-fi. We will be coming back here!

The Roman Baths, Pump Room and Cathedral are a stones throw away and the new Thermae Spa a few minutes walk. Loads of places to eat and drink all within walking distance - we highly recommend a few days here.

There's no parking but there's a public car park a few minutes walk away, it's bit pricey but you're in the centre of Bath and it's next to the Police Station!!

Room Tip: No need, they're probably all brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpea26-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    99
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
305
498
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Arrived Friday 20th May 2011 to Sunday 22nd 2011

Four ladies on a spa weekend
Asher Suit
I have to say this Guest House, one of the best I have stayed in, and I have been to many all over the world. I can not fault this place in any way.
The location is perfect just a 6 minute walk from the station, right in the heart of Bath with all the amenities around e.g. minutes walk away to the Abbey and Roman Bath. The hospitality we received was just wonderfully, and the owner was very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and bright with a large bathroom which had a bath a separate shower which was perfectly clean. Breakfast was lovely as they made sure that they had something there for every one, veggie sausages for me which I was most pleased about.
I am now thinking of returning there with hubby for a weekend, as it was so nice.

Many many thanks to you and your staff

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamaica01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at 3 Abbey Green with our six week old. It was our first trip out of town and we were nervous about travelling with her. The facility itself was lovely and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. They provided a nice pack n play, let us leave the stroller downstairs, and even had a changing facility downstairs - but our room had plenty of space and we didn't need to use it. The best part was the owners' reaction to the baby - they fawned over our baby and even carried her around during breakfast so we could eat. It was a great reception and they directed us to baby friendly restaurants, etc. As a new mom it meant a lot.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

In a quiet square near the town center Three Abbey Green was easy to find. We rang the doorbell and were greeted by a friendly lady who showed us to our room and offered us help taking our bags upstairs to the room. The room itself was well sized and furnished in a contemporary manner but still befitting the age of the building.

We then went down to the kitchen area where we were given a brief introduction to the facilities in the B&B (including the free WiFi and computer that guest can use). We were given a map of Bath and told about some of the things to do. We then paid by card (they prefer payment in advance) and then went for a look around the town center, which really was just outside the door, with a Blacks on one corner of the square next to M&S, a pub opposite (which served reasonable food), and a road through to the abbey in another corner. The tree in the center of the square is a nice location for a photograph.

The WiFi was simple to connect too, worked first time, and fast/responsive enough for me to use remote desktop to my office PC in London.

Breakfast was served in a light, stylishly furnished room in the lower ground floor (between 8:30 and 9:30 AM). The menu choice was excellent and fresh food was served very promptly with a choice of tea/coffee, toast, and apple/orange juice. The food was excellent and the portion sizes were just right. The staff showed great enthusiam and even gave a brief informative talk about the history of the building and Bath itself.

We stayed two nights, the bed was comfy, the room and en-suite were clean, and the digital (freeview) television had a reasonable choice of channels. We did experience slight noise from the square, probably due to the room not having double glazing (I expect because the building is listed).

Checkout (by 10:30) was easy as we had already paid, so we just had to hand over our keys), we were also offered the opportunity to leave our bags securely for the day after check-out, but didn't need it this time.

Overall, the location/room/staff/breakfast were all excellent, I can't really fault anything.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cckthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed in the Penthouse suite which was perfect. Lovely facilities, clean and everything plus more that you could need for a short break. Great location nothing was too far. Owners were particularly helpful in offering advice on where to eat and what to do. Many thanks for a great short break -we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

A fantastic place to stay, so friendly and helpful with tips of where to go and see the best of Bath in our short stay. Just a short walk from the Abbey and Roman Baths but not on the main busy tourist streets. Good restaurants just a short walk away. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jev42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

My family and I just returned from our trip to Great Britain which included a three-day stay at Three Abbey Green and we highly recommend this B&B. This is a family run place and you get all the warmth that goes along with that and the service and amenities of a 4 star hotel. Sue (the owner) guided us into Bath from Edinburgh and made sure we had what we needed when we arrived (including a parking space). The rooms were amazing and the bathroom was spacious and glamorous (Asher Suite). You get a real breakfast with a smile and helpful travel tips. Sue even made sure we had breakfast to go since we had a 5 am departure to the airport on our last day. Any parent can appreciate that kind of service when traveling with children! I also have to mention what a great location this is--right in the heart of Bath next to the Roman Baths. This B&B worked perfectly for my family.

Room Tip: Check with the owners on what room will work best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twokidslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.2 mi away
Harington's City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Property: Three Abbey Green
Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath
3 Abbey Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing