We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place with real character.”
Review of Marlborough Tavern

Marlborough Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Marlborough Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 618 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Bath Spa rail station is a short taxi drive away (5 mins) or a pleasant 20 min walk. A City Sightseeing bus stop is directly outside the pub.
Description: Situated around the corner from The Royal Crescent, The Marlborough Tavern combines the atmosphere of a local pub with the quality of a top restaurant. Two AA rosettes, a horde of local & national awards plus inclusions in The Michelin Guide and Good Food Guide bear testimony to their consistent delivery of high quality cooking. They have a clear approach to food ���find the best and freshest ingredients and to create great tasting, essentially simple dishes where the quality of the produce speaks for itself. Food is essentially ��� though not slavishly ��� English in character and takes advantage of locally sourced produce wherever possible. The lunchtime menu features a range of lighter dishes plus some traditional pub classics - and the Sunday roasts are legendary. They have an extensive wine list and selection of local ales. Outside they boast what is arguably Bath���s finest pub garden; a walled courtyard space, it���s perfect for summertime lunching and drinking.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I came, with a friend to the Marlborough Tavern, last Saturday and was so impressed.
It's the type of venue which makes you comfortable while at the same time relaxed. Our waitress, who had long brown hair and a husky voice (as a result of a loss of voice - get well soon!) was fantastic. Attentive, kind and above all, interested in our needs she oversaw our entire three course meal. To start with, my partner and I shared the salmon, which was both refreshing and light. Mains, we chose the mussels and hake, both of which were of perfect size, taste and quality for our palettes. To end the meal, we shared the brownie, which was exquisite mix of citrusy orange purée and gooey chocolate brownie.

Safe to say we loved every minute of it, and will be back, purely for the warm service and genius cooking we experienced. It was a busy Saturday, and the pub was packed, but we were treated as if we mattered, and in the long run that is what service is.

Thankyou so much! We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ginalovesfood234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert c, General Manager at Marlborough Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review, we are very pleased you had a great time with us.
Your comments will be passed on to the staff member you mentioned.
We hope to see you back at the Marlborough Tavern very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

963 - 967 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

The staff were rude and arrogant. Definitely would not recommend. A stark contrast to the other two pubs in this chain (Hare and Hounds and Chequers) where they are very welcoming and friendly

Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert c, General Manager at Marlborough Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We are extremely sorry you did not receive our usual warm and friendly welcome when you visited in December 2012, however as you can see from other recent reviews this is not our normal level of service.
We do hope we can welcome you back to the Marlborough Tavern so we can put this right.
We do take all comments and reviews very seriously and are investigating the matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A lovely well-appointed and relaxed upmarket pub in Bath. The food was very tasty, enjoyable and well presented, and matched with a good local ale. Warm and comfortable atmosphere, but would've been good if one or two of the staff were a bit more amiable by smiling a little. It wasn't very busy the day I was there but it was hard to get the attention of staff at times. Overall it was very pleasant and the food and ale was well worth the visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NZ_2_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

A cut above your normal pub food although this was one of those places which was more restaurant than pub. A very fine real ale was available.
Our waiter looked harassed and came across as a bit grumpy, but efficient. A smile would have been appreciated.
Whilst I don't object to small children in a pub (these were well behaved) i feel they should limit this to daytime and early evening and certainly not beyond 9.30- 10 pm at night.
Good value and would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very rare to follow trip advisor advice and find such poor results.For starters we had what claimed to be confit duck,which turned out to be almost entirely glutinous rice balls with no trace of duck,bought in rubbish.
The steaks were completely dominated by a "complimentary " garlic & tarragon dressing which they accidentally ? Charged for.
The third person in our party had mussels to start" tasteless "followed by vegetarian Thai curry" the worst she had ever had"accompanied by a glass of Sauvignon blanc £8-75!
The service staff were pleasant and apologetic but we won't be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert c, General Manager at Marlborough Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear David J
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we take all comments and reviews seriously and they are important in helping us improve. We are very sorry you did not enjoy the evening you spent with us. I would like to assure you all our food is freshly prepared on the premises and all our produce is locally sourced.
Steak night is a very popular event at the Marlborough Tavern and we have received very good feedback from other guests.
We have had a good response from our new menu and we were disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your meal.
We would be delighted to invite you back to the Marlborough Tavern to give us another go, if you do decide to book with us again please ask for me and I will make the booking for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlborough Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Marlborough Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing