We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Food - Avoid” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tasca Bath - CLOSED

La Tasca Bath
Price range: $6 - $69
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A fleet of authentic Spanish tapas restaurants established in 1993, La Tasca offers an award-winning range of sumptuous Mediterranean flavours. Sourcing ingredients from artisan suppliers dotted across Spain, head chef Antony compiles a range of boldly flavoured sharing dishes, all complemented by a range of Spanish wines, sangrias and sherries. Ever family-friendly, younger diners can enjoy delicious miniature tapas plates at La Tasca - Bath.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Poor Food - Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Myself and my wife popped in to this establishment. We ordered drinks our starters and our selection of tapas.
Our garlic olives arrived (one of our two starters ordered) and indeed they were good olives. The 8 dishes selected arrived and first impressions were of disappointment....they had a 'microwave' appearance about them, the fish was nice just that it was wrapped in a stretchy batter, the deep fried chicken goey tasteless balls in an over fried batter were dreadful too.....the potato paella had a freshness that only many days of "maturing" could provide and the reheated meatballs in a tasteless tomato sauce meant enough was enough......just as my garlic bread starter arrived! No point in discussing any other aspect of the place as i went their to eat.....My recommendation is simple............avoid

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank restaurantsinbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    129
    57
    35
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“LOVELY STAFF, A REALLY GREAT FAMILY EVENING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We love La Tasca in general - first time to the one in Bath. Staff were so friendly to us and our 3 boys. We always take advantage of the menu - the food was tasty, quick - using Tastecard aswell, always a bonus to only pay half!!
We had a great evening - love the Torres Rioja.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clare i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Went with a friend for a quick bite before drinks. Bread and olives to start. He ordered the Paella, I had calamari, prawns, beef and chorizo. It was poor, poor value, poor taste, poor service. When asked about the meal, I said it was not good, the waitress didn't comment. I shall not be returning. Try La Perla, a tad pricier, but much nicer.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgeJRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Consitant Spain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Went here midweek and it was quite, the food was consistant and we could have been at any La Tasca in the U.K. service was very good and a 6 dish meal with bread and a bottle of wine was £40.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Startrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had a mind to visit this place for some time ever since, some years ago, our son said it was good but a bit pricey. We finally made it today, 29 Feb 2012, and had a great time. That had nothing to do with the food or service however - we met a couple from New Zealand and spent a couple of hours chatting and drinking beer.

Things didn't start off too well. Orange juice? No, don't have any (Waitrose is just 75 yards away). Water? Yes, but it only arrived after two reminders. Beers? One arrived, two didn't (for the Kiwis). Otherwise the service was okay.

I took the lunchtime special, five dishes for a tenner: patatas bravas - limp and unseasoned; meatballs (lots of tomato sauce) - I ate one of the four; Spanish omelette - apparently unseasoned and pretty tasteless; chicken (I believe) croquettes - tasty but looked like something out of a plastic bag and their 'famous paella' - perhaps infamous would be a better description, it was very poor.

Her majesty took (1) the lemon chicken which she described as 'oily' and 'not very tasty' and (2) the quinoa which again was 'not tasty'. The Kiwis also were quite underwhelmed by the food quality.

As indicated above, whilst this chain mentions its sources on the website, I had the distinct impression that most of the lunch had been sourced from a wholesaler or cheap supermarket and had arrived at our table via a plastic bag from the freezer.

The atmosphere could, I suppose, be okay but it appears that locals have got the message and just the odd table or two was taken, perhaps by tourists. I can't imagine why anyone would make a return visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wirepuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca Bath also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing