We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strada - Bath - CLOSED

Strada - Bath
Price range: $19 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a pre Theatre visit to Strada on a Saturday evening. The resaurant was busy, as you would expect, but the service was prompt and couteous. The food was enjoyed by all the party and the Salmon with Lentils that I chose was very good. The house red was a decent rioja. Not the cheapest Italian I have come accross but reasonable value all the same.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    68
    31
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food Hit and Miss, but Location Fantastic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Bath's Strada is practically next door to Pizza Express, but whereas the latter is squished into a nondescript modern building with 80% of the seating in the basement, Strada occupies a gorgeous Georgian townhouse that was once the home of Regency dandy Beau Nash. I usually opt for Strada because the building has so much character, but in truth the food is better at the rival up the street.

I went with a large group who ordered mainly pizza, and the variation in quality between our meals was striking. One flatbread starter was essentially pizza with salt, rosemary and olive oil, and it was crispy Roman perfection, suggesting that this was a restaurant that got the pizza basics right. It was therefore a disappointment that some of the other pizzas were undercooked and/or overtopped. The spicy pepperoni number (here called a Rossa) was sunk by its cargo of slimy onion and pepper; these were supposed to be chargrilled, but had clearly just seen two minutes in the inside of an oily pan. An anchovy-based pizza looked suspiciously like it had been reheated from the night before; as someone who often reheats my own pizza, I recognised the off-fresh texture to the dough. The best pizza had by my group was a child's, which was simply topped with tomato, cheese and ham and cooked so that a slice could be held in the hand without being too floppy.

A couple of people in my group went for pasta, and it has to be said it looked better, with the penne bolognese having a proper ragu without tomato overkill, and a sausage and broccoli based dish looking top notch.

So, if you're standing in Sawclose wondering whether to choose Strada or Pizza Express, I'd recommend Strada for atmosphere or pasta, and Pizza Express for quality pizza. In truth the Strada pizza will disappoint anyone who takes their pizza seriously.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LambertBaillieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Although Strada is a chain, we stopped in as the restaurants in Bath were packed due to the Christmas market. The atmosphere was cozy. The service was friendly and attentive. The prices were reasonable. The tiramisu was delicious. Overall it exceeded expectations. I would definitely stop in again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ccesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe
Level Contributor
149 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good chain italian coffee bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

For someone not a fan of chains, Strads does well, although the venue needs TLC. Their Risotto is good

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith Makepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

A very nice night out great food, fast but not too fast service. The staff were attentive maybe a little too attentive to my wife of my liking, but a good night out. And we will go back again in the new year.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jonooffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strada - Bath also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing