We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great veggie food and excellent service”

Acorn Vegetarian Kitchen
Ranked #29 of 574 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A vegetarian restaurant unlike any other. Modern, exciting food using local and artisan ingredients. A place to relax with friends and family, a glass of wine and food to remember.
Hants
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great veggie food and excellent service”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A Sunday lunch venue without a traditional roast! Like many people, we are trying to cut down on meat intake, so we opted for our first visit to the renowned on this trip to Bath. The restaurant is small, and diners are crammed in, but we were placed at the back near a window so although no views (a blank wall!) a breeze was nice. The menu offered 4 starters and 4 mains, and I chose carrot and cashew pate, which came with thinly sliced toasted sourdough - delicious. M had truffle broccoli, followed by miso roasted aubergine served on buckwheat and toasted sunflower seeds and a star anise puree. My main was ricotta fritters served on a bed of cabbage with pumpkin seeds, coasted cherry tomatoes, and we added some polenta chips with rhubarb ketchup judt because they sounded (and were!) tasty. M had room for an orange posset with rhubarb and gingere ice, which I tasted before he hoovered it all down and it was divine, and a lovely fresh balance to the richness of previous flavours. My criticism of the ricotta fritters was that they were coated in a heavy (semolina?) crust and fried but this coating was leathery when on the plate and I scooped out the filling and left the outsides.

Apart from that, Demuths goes on proving that vegetarian food is not dull and hefty, and we left feeling that we could improve on the textures and flavours of home cooked veggie meals for ourselves. Educating people to cook non-meat meals well is a huge part of this battle, after all, with the world needing to consider its options for farming and food production, coupled with the disgusting imbalance of third world starvation and western obesity problems.

My only request - drinks menu included a few homemade fruit based drinks, but nothing in the way if vegetable juices, which would, I think, add to the excellent choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelcake_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    872
    239
    88
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Veggie RESTAUARANT in Bath”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Having booked the Spa experience in Bath we decided to visit this restaurant as it advertises Gluten free vegetarian food which as a coeliac is sometimes hard to find.
The restaurant itself is quite charming by way of decor and the staff friendly, however it was very cold inside, a chilly day and the windows were fully open and the fan wafting ice cold air over us. The food was inventive but not particularly appetizing, I was quite disappointed as we have some lovely vegetarian eateries in Suffolk where I live. I would be unlikely to visit again if in Bath

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bungle54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
591 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Good food, great flavours... Just not enough of it!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Not being vegetarian should not put you off seeking out a table on Demuths. The menu is varied and interesting and the atmosphere convivial. Staff were friendly and service was fine. Our meals tasted delicious- carrot and cashew pâté was very tasty as was the asparagus for starters and the trio of beetroot, vegetable curry and ricotta fritters were all equally tasty. However, by anybody's standards, a main course which consists of three beetroot and a small cheese soufflé is simply not sufficient to justify the price tag, as was the case with the small portion of fritters which came with little or nothing else. The curry was a more decent size with rice included in the dish and to be fair, all tasted delicious.

The dessert menu was less adventurous and portions equally overpriced for the quantity.

That said, if you re looking for good quality vegetarian food and don't mind paying a little over the odds, it's worth paying Demuths a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StelucLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food quite good, service improved but still a little slow”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Service friendly but quite slow. We've avoided it for a couple of years after 2 bad service experiences; this time it was faster, but still not the speediest.

Food is quite inventive and it's lovely to have lots of choice for once. Food is well presented.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don’t be put off by the ‘veggie’ tag – it really is an excellent restaurant.”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went with some friends on a recent Friday night and were pleasantly surprised by the inventiveness of the menu. If you go expecting some sort of meat substitute you will be disappointed, in which case don’t bother going. But if you are open to trying well prepared and interesting taste combinations with bags of flavour then it should definitely be on your hit list. The non-pretentious wine list was also good value and it was fairly easy to choose an appropriate wine for the evening.

The restaurant is small and intimate and can get busy, so you will need to book ahead. As for VFM, I accept that prices might at first appear a little steep, but you need to recognise that you are getting something that is individually prepared and not run-of-the-mill. I have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acorn Vegetarian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Acorn Vegetarian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing