We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, warm reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Rouge - Bath

Cafe Rouge - Bath
Ranked #118 of 567 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Café Rouge is located on Milsom Street, in what was originally a very grand townhouse. Now a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the city boasts a wide array of things to see and do. The restaurant features stained glass window effect in the ceiling and is decorated with statues, that can also be found located throughout the city. Book now and experience the history of this beautiful town and restaurant in a welcoming and friendly environment.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, warm reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited cafe rouge Bath last week whilst on holiday, yes it's a chain but the decor is lovely, the staff were attentive and pleasant. The food was hot and tasty, the garlic sour dough batons are lovely, not too expensive when you use the discounts frequently available on offer sites.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    226
    130
    56
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“It's a chain. . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good prompt service, food hot and ok for a stop whilst browsing around Bath. We had the set lunch menu which was limited choice but tasty

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adele48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Get in before noon to enjoy the vegy breakfast. Huge and healthy at under £8 - dinner may not be needed!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank derek c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“love the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from cafe rouge (Bath) and have to say all staff were very attentive and polite... I think after the last review some one may have had a kick up the rear and realised customers come first !
I must admit it was around three pm on a sunday so not too many customers to serve but they were faultless.. Food was really good I had french onion soup marvellous and char grilled chicken salad for main which was very tasty .
Only thing i was gutted about was that they dont do draught beer !!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzanne1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A thumbs down, I'm afraid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have eaten here a few times over the years and it generally has felt like a treat. My sons booked us in for Mother's Day and we rocked up, full of the joys of a very cold spring.
We went in, and simply stood there, while three members of staff carried on about their business, none of them seeming to notice us. One finally looked up, grunted and then pushed past to hand out bills to departing diners. Then finally, 'Hello, have you booked?' We explained we had and she pointed us to the best table in the house, in the bit in the window, only to say, as my derriere was an inch from the seat, that that wasn't our table and pointed to another. By then, it was starting to feel a bit awkward and we explained that there would be four and the table she showed us wasn't big enough. Another grunt and the waitress said over her shoulder, to her collegue for her to find us a table.
The manageress came up and I said that I thought the waitress had a been a bit rude and that this had been booked as a treat. She also made a possibly gallic 'pooowfsh' noise (sorry would have been the correct response here, I think) and then led us to a table, squished in between two other's and pointed triumphantly to a coat hook on the wall, as if this would solve our mounting issues with the place.
Two waitresses came up to ask us if we wanted drinks. We said no to both as we were hatching an escape plan. Is it better to have a restaurant in the hand, or a possible two in the bush? A quick phone call later, and another restaurant down the road said that sure, they could fit us in and minutes later we strode out of Cafe Rouge, never to return!!!Note to said restaurant, if they read the reviews...it costs nothing to crack a welcoming smile and make people feel glad they have come to eat with you. These days, it is a competitive market and we chose to possible go without, rather than spend money with you guys. Btw, it is worth shopping around a bit, because actually, Cafe Rouge is fairly pricey and for 45p more, you can get a much more superior veggie brekkie at Bill's, which is where we ended up. Try a lot harder please.
Btw, the food is nice here and I can say that having eaten here before, but the service lets it down.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Bath also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge - Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing