We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't pay for mediocre food and slow service!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Rouge - Bath

Cafe Rouge - Bath
Ranked #115 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Café Rouge is located on Milsom Street, in what was originally a very grand townhouse. Now a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the city boasts a wide array of things to see and do. The restaurant features stained glass window effect in the ceiling and is decorated with statues, that can also be found located throughout the city. Book now and experience the history of this beautiful town and restaurant in a welcoming and friendly environment.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't pay for mediocre food and slow service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went here for a friends birthday and was really not impressed! The waitress couldn't seem to remember our orders at all, steak knives forgotten, had to ask several times for water,
waited OVER AN HOUR for a starter - (which turned out to be a bit of a joke) as we ordered the petit plats to share but it turned out to be bits of bread with ham, the stilton and walnuts was literally one chunk of sliced stilton with about 6 walnuts scattered on a wooden board - why would it take an hour to cut bits of bread&cheese and put it on a board with some ham?!

My steak was good however the bearnaise sauce was not- I have made better bearnaise sauces at home (following the wise words of Delia) that haven't curdled.

I can see why the place was very empty when we went. Overall there are much nicer places in Bath to eat for the same price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    223
    128
    54
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ok nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went for a family lunch as part of a day tip to Bath, ordered the steak which was nothing special - a bit chewey. My daughter had the pancake off the children's menu and loved it. Pudding of pomme tartin was a sponge apple cake, the creme brûlée was the best thing about the meal. Won't bother going again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee and cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went here for morning coffee and cake. Lovely clean place. Quick service and really nice staff. Plan on going here for lunch sometime soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chapmans77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“French cafe indeed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have been there a few days ago and I am sure I will visit it again. The atmoshpere resemble a french bistro (as it should), the menu is rich and the prices are logical. I had propably the best chicken I have ever tasted (demi poulet); the chicken was tender and savory, with a lemony sauce and delicious fries. The portion was adequate, so I believe it has a very good value-for-money. Our waiter was happy and helpful, but sometimes his too many jokes were a bit annoying. Anyway, I would strongly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisiAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Excellent, quick food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We arrived absolutely starving, but not sure of being able to get a table, as it was a Saturday night. We were seated immediately and the waiter quickly took our orders, and brought us our drinks and starter very soon after. We shared a garlic bread platter, which was very nice, and as we could dip the bread in the garlic butter, we could choose how garlicky we wanted it - which suited us very well!
Our mains were excellent too - the beef bourguignon was very good, and the roast chicken was huge. We were pretty full, so shared a dessert, which was a little disappointing (and I can therefore not even remember what it was!), but overall the whole meal was very nice, and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Bath also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge - Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing