We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect post-Christmas wind down”
Tor View Shepherds Huts (Lens Hut)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tor View Shepherds Huts (Lens Hut)
A good night’s sleep is also assured a generously proportioned double bed Tempur memory mattress. There’s a proper fitted kitchen with oven, hob, sink, fridge, dining table and stools.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Tor View Shepherds Huts (Lens Hut)
A good night’s sleep is also assured a generously proportioned double bed Tempur memory mattress.
There’s a proper fitted kitchen with oven, hob, sink, fridge, dining table and stools.
The style is definitely rustic and natural, with gentle pastel colours, enamel mugs, soft throw,big.
Location, location, location First of all, it’s a pretty special spot.
Wood burning stove whatever the weather you are guaranteed to be warm and snug in Lens Hut.
Although it includes absolutely everything the clever design means that it feels spacious.
Fuly En suite. Fluffy towels, shower gel and plenty of fresh toilet paper included.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DaveHarbo...
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect post-Christmas wind down”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We booked Lens hut for 3 nights from Boxing day to have some "us time" after the hectic lead up to Christmas. WOW, everything you could think of is catered for in such a small space, unbelievable. 10 x electrical sockets (you don't even get that amount in a hotel room.)

Very comprehensive instructions on everything within and outside the hut, spend some time to read these to make you stay easier.
Toasted crumpets on an open log fire on a dark night followed by hours of watching the bright stars from the log burning hot tub, a lovely way to end the day( especially as it was my wife's birthday too).

Some smashing sunsets as the sun dropped behind Glastonbury tor and some eerie morning views across to the tor with the morning mist.

We certainly got the chillax feeling that we both required.

Phil and Amanda are smashing hosts, nothing too much trouble.

Only one downside, time, although it slowed whilst we were here, it was over too soon and we were back to reality of a fast paced life.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
Thank you so much for the kind words, we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanG99
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing location and facilities”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed there three times now, each time we enjoy it more. Phil is the perfect host. The Hut is beautifully built and designed. High quality finishes with clever design make it a great environment to stay in. When you take the views over to Glastonbury Tor it is a perfect place to escape.

The addition of the fire pit and now the wood fired hot tub make long lazy evenings outside cooking your food and star gazing perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words, hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monicasha...
Oaksey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the outdoor pizza oven!”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a blissful weekend in Ted's hut - what a find! Phil was super welcoming. Showed us everything we needed to know but also left lots of little surprises for us to discover (it's worth having a rummage through the vintage memorabilia that decorate Ted!). Loads of thoughtful touches and totally kitted out - all we needed to bring was our clothes and groceries. Highlight had to be the wood-fired oven (and unlimited supply of wood, kindling, and fire lighters!). Really enjoyed cooking pizza in it and want one of our own now! Also loved the secluded location and of course, the hot tub!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyv999
England
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Second stay......even better than the first!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second stay in Lens Hut and just when we thought it couldn't get any better the hot tub and fire pit have been added = fabulous!! If you want somewhere to go just to get away from it all but still want your home comforts then this is the place to go. They have thought of everything you need including binoculars to spot the wildlife in the surrounding fields! Such a quiet and beautiful location you can't help but relax. Can't recommend highly enough. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood fired hot tub
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Thanks for the positive feed back, we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AandSp
Milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed February 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have just stayed at Lens Hut for the third time. Each time it just gets better. The wood fired outdoor bath is a stroke of genius. Mid February does not seem the time to be in a bath outside but it was so lovely we struggled to drag ourselves out of the steamy water. As always the hut was perfect. First time we have stayed during winter. Normally we walk all day (via local pubs) and sit in the garden cooking on the fire pit and looking at the wonderful view in the evening. This time it was very different but no less wonderful and relaxing. The hut was toasty warm and has every we need and the bath adds a whole new dimension. Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2016
Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pixie B
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect get away exactly what we were looking for! :D”
Reviewed February 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

After surfing the web for the evening going through countless cabins in the middle of nowhere (which is what we wanted) I was gutted that most places were v expensive and had no decent shower/toilet facilities and were separate and often shared. (Defo not what we wanted!) I found this little gem Lens hut, and booked it on the spot after showing my partner. We were v excited! We seemed to choose the wettest windiest wkd ever but had a lush time regardless! The cabin is easy to find, but into the country enough to feel out of the rat race which is exactly what we wanted. Lovely and quiet, surrounded by views of green fields. The actual cabin was so cute and well thought out in design space and aesthetics, little quirky touches of vintage decor. Was warm and cosy once we either stoked the fire or lazily put the electric heating on, the little wet room was perfect and no need to go outside to use it or share it, aside from my partner. :) The little kitchen was perfect for cooking and all the things we thought we would need and packed were already there, kitchen supplies etc. The bed was my favourite bit about it (i love my bed) it was sooo comfy and i'm a bed snob for sure, the mattress was so comfy and the pillows and duvet were perfect soft warm and thick i slept soo well! The cherry on the cake for us though was free wifi! All in all i could go on about it for hrs but i wont bore u, would round up by saying we will defo be back! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the pottering around the surrounding villages and were sad to leave as was only there for the wkd. Would defo recommended it! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed and free wifi!
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyanny
Buckinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven away from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Len’s hut is a little piece of heaven. It feels completely isolated from the mad (real) world of rushing about, deadlines, pressures and tasks, but comes with the added bonus of a luxurious set up. The bed is incredibly comfortable, you don’t need to leave the hut to use a bathroom, there is hot and cold running water, a decent shower and loo, the kitchen is well equipped – on our first visit we cooked full meals in here, using the oven and hob. There’s even wi-fi, a TV and DVD player and DAB radio, so you can choose to keep up with civilisation as much as you want to. There is a log burner for when it’s chilly outside, which will keep you warm and toasty (there’s a radiator too if you don’t enjoy such romanticisms, but we do!) Now there’s also a fire pit outside, which is where we cooked every night of our second visit, drank heavenly local cider and toasted marshmallows. When we came home we managed to source our own, similar, trough to try to recapture this in our own garden!

In fact, Len’s hut isn’t isolated at all, it’s a brief walk from the very friendly owners’ farmhouse, they’re approachable if you need anything but otherwise you might only see them occasionally to say hello, you’ll certainly be left to enjoy the peace and quiet of the hut. It’s also a walk away from some lovely places to eat and a short drive from a whole heap of Somerset towns and villages to explore, like Cheddar, Frome and Wells, or drive down to the coast or over to Bath.

I should really have reviewed Len’s hut after our first visit in May 2014, I was remiss in not doing so, life speeds along quickly once you leave Len and re-enter the real world, but we’ve been again in August 2015 and hope to go back again in 2015 to try the hot tub that Phil and Amanda are adding to the hut. If you want a break from rushing about and a bolt hole in the middle of beautiful countryside, just for two, I highly recommend trying Len’s hut.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2015
Thank you so much for honest kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing