We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of peace in a busy world. The...”
Tor View Shepherds Huts (Lens Hut)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tor View Shepherds Huts (Lens Hut)
A good night’s sleep is also assured a generously proportioned double bed Tempur memory mattress. There’s a proper fitted kitchen with oven, hob, sink, fridge, dining table and stools.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Tor View Shepherds Huts (Lens Hut)
A good night’s sleep is also assured a generously proportioned double bed Tempur memory mattress.
There’s a proper fitted kitchen with oven, hob, sink, fridge, dining table and stools.
The style is definitely rustic and natural, with gentle pastel colours, enamel mugs, soft throw,big.
Location, location, location First of all, it’s a pretty special spot.
Wood burning stove whatever the weather you are guaranteed to be warm and snug in Lens Hut.
Although it includes absolutely everything the clever design means that it feels spacious.
Fuly En suite. Fluffy towels, shower gel and plenty of fresh toilet paper included.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adam S
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of peace in a busy world. The ultimate escape from it all”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

My wife and I spent a much needed weekend of uninterrupted bliss in Len's hut. Cook, chat, read a book - whatever takes your fancy. A very comfortable space in which to while away a weekend. Len's hut has all you will need in a beautifully designed space. It's clever design means that you'll want for nothing more than a return visit...... Enjoy!!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee M
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant getaway”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Me and my partner traveled down for a few days quiet getaway and wasn't disappointed with what we found - a great little hut kitted out to a high standard with plenty of info on local places to visit and eat out and views across the fields to Glastonbury Tor.

The owner was very helpful and friendly when we arrived and very kindly allowed us to adjust the dates of our stay after we'd accidentally booked the wrong dates without charge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lying in the comfy bed listening to the storm outside
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2013
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyAbbott
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great night in the Sheperds Hut”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Myself and my wife recently spent a lovely weekend in the Shepherds Hut nr Mendip Hills, We travelled down from Chelmsford for a shopping trip and decided to try a different type of accommodation and came across the Hut on the internet. What a lovely surprise we had, great location with good views across the countryside. The Hut itself was very well equipped with great décor (my wife even contacted the owners after our trip to find out where they purchased some of their finishing touches) the owners were very helpful when we arrived. Our bed was so comfortable we had a great nights sleep and had a relaxed walk around the fields before heading on our travels again. I would recommend this unique experience for any couple looking for a romantic stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up to birdsong with a view across fields.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments.
Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneHopeCl...
Wells
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Total Chill-Out Location”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I had a lovely time in Len's hut earlier in the year. I needed some "me time" and a bit of a chill out and the hut was perfect for this. Great views across the Mendips whilst reading and sipping on a cold one.

Amazed at how many mod-cons have been squeezed inside the hut. Cooker, Fridge, Hot Shower and even a log burning stove! So this is not a 'roughing it' experience, quite the opposite.

Felt recharged and fully refreshed at the end of my stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Being totally remote but having all the mod-cons
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments.
Phil and Mandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitecott...
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Little bit of magic on the Mendips”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Superb spot, very near the top of the Mendips, looking out across the Somerset Levels to Glastonbury Tor.
This hut is brand new and utterly immaculate - in terms of decor and fittings it's as good as a room in a 5 star hotel. Being able to step out of bed into perfect little shower room/toilet is a real bonus (no yomping over a field in the dark or first thing in the morning).
So well designed that it's not the least bit cramped - there's space for everything, and everything is provided, even down to washing up liquid, tomato ketchup, mustard, firelighters and kindling for the woodburner, lots of interesting books on the locality, TV, radiator, drawers under the bed to stow your bags away, fabulous mattress...and the decor is pure Country Living. It's also really warm and snug, obviously very well insulated - even in the depths of winter you'd be really comfortable...in fact it would be great as with the wood burner going you'd be toasty warm.

We were lazy - didn't cook. Went to Oakhill Inn for dinner and Hartley's Kitchen for breakfast (both just a mile away) but the little kitchen is really well equipped if you want rustle up a meal.

It's the perfect escape - highly recommended and unbelievably good value for money. Will definitely be staying again.

I've given it top rating in every category because I really couldn't fault it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Curled up in bed listening to rain plopping on roof and feeling really snug
Liked least: Fact we didn't book for longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VFalla
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“One epic view and every detail thought about in this cosy getaway”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Slightly dubious about the comforts of 'glamping', I can honestly say I had the best nights sleep in a long time. Len's hut contains all of the luxuries of a hotel packed (quite surprisingly) into a shepherds hut. Both myself and my husband had a wonderful time drinking cider and looking over the views of somerset and Glastonbury Tor. Perched up over one of Somerset's most beautiful view points we thoroughly enjoyed waking up to see miles of green fields. Phil and Amanda were great hosts, leaving us to ourselves but making sure we had everything we would possibly need (from cheese graters to coffee and tea to wood for the log burner). Thank you for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The super comfy bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing