We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Mad About Jack's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PorterHouse.sy1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
PorterHouse.sy1
Ranked #13 of 55 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing Mad About Jack's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We just had a lovely stay at Mad Jack's. The central location was close to everything and an easy walk to and from the Shrewsbury rail station. Despite the name, Mad Jack's was quite sane, and sufficiently quiet that we were able to sleep soundly. "Becky", the girl Friday of the place was gracious and served us a delicious breakfast. The dinner available in the restaurant was quite good as well. I would certainly stay with Jack again were I to find myself in Shrewsbury.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cactusck2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    43
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
10
81
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This restaurant is in a very attractive part of a very sttractive town. We had sea bass, crab and pasta and sea trout and potato. The sauce with the latter was a bit bland. On the whole though the food is very good. They do very nice bread buns. The coffee is good. It's not cheap but it's well-frequented. The service is efficient. The toilets are a long was off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MVC499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Let's face it - Shrewsbury is a charming place packed with good hotels and guest houses. We arrived in town not having booked anywhere to stay and liked the look of Mad Jack's. The only room available was the suite which was lovely. The building is very old and full of character. The staff were friendly and helpful - could not be faulted. It was spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable. The suite is at the front of the building so there is a certain amount of traffic noise. It did not disturb us during the night at all but if you are very sensitive to that sort of thing (remembering that this is a town centre location) then you may wish to ask for a room away from the road.
Fun atmosphere in the bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: You may wish to ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liberdade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Travelling alone on business can be pretty miserable so it was great to receive a really warm welcome both as a hotel and restaurant guest. Lovely room with free wifi too. Dinner was great. the whole experience was an unexpected and very welcome pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ChapelCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked all four rooms and none of us were disappointed. I had the suite, which was lovely & roomy. Full of character with a lovely modern bathroom. The only drawback is this place is on a fairly narrow road and it's a busy road, so the traffic disturbed my sleep. The individual touches are lovely; fresh milk in the fridge, bottle of mineral water, freshly made flapjacks & brownies on arrival for a nibble, beautiful cotton sheets & bedding. We ate in the restaurant and the food was superb! Well priced, great choice and very tasty. Breakfast was also great, freshly cooked to order with a great choice.
Would fully recommend this place and will be returning myself.

Room Tip: The suite is a lovely indulgence as it gives you more space but it's front facing and can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poolhousetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Back to my home town to see my daughter and family,celebrate my husbands birthday and house hunt for our return to beautiful Shropshire next year God willing. From the moment we arrived it was just wonderful and continued for our 3 nights stay. Christian welcomed us and made a wonderful first impression. We stayed in the suite which was spacious, so very clean and just lovely. The atmosphere at Mad Jacks is just first class and all of the staff are so polite,helpful and warm.
We ate eat each evening in the restaurant and the choice and quality and presentation of the food equals and surpasses many 5 star hotels we have stayed in, the personal service is second to none. Breakfast choice is huge and beautifully cooked and once again presented.
I read various reports good mostly but some not so good before booking,I really don't understand the negative ones. And I am hard to please. You do hear some noise,but nothing awful and our stay took in a Friday and Saturday as well as Sunday. The suite is at the front so expected rd noise but not anything serious. I think the rooms at the back may have some noise from the extractor fans,but rooms looked very nice. The lady who cleans the rooms certainly makes sure all is perfect and needs recognition for her high standards.
Parking is a slight problem, but can unload etc outside of Mad Jacks,then given my local knowledge knew the best and least expensive parking is St Julian's Friars at the bottom of Wyle Cop, parking from 8 am until 6 pm is £4. So free overnight. Plus you can pre park via machine there for the next day so you don't have to rush down before 8 the next morning.
To sum up this place is a total gem. You can stay at the Rupert or Lion in the town and I have stayed at both, but if you want to be in the town you really can't beat Mad Jacks.
I feel each and every member of staff must be hand picked as they are all so special, and being old fashioned so appreciated their politeness but fun personalities.
Book it, enjoy. Ignore any negative reviews.

Room Tip: Suite is well worth the extra money.Special deal is such good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally165228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great location right in the middle of Shrewsbury town centre,surrounded by medieval architecture and many interesting sights.Room was beautiful, well equipped and staff were lovely and welcoming.Food from Mad Jacks restaurant delicious and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy76Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mad J, Manager at PorterHouse.sy1, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank You very much for the positive feedback you have left us here at Mad Jacks. It is so important to let us know when we do things right so we can continue to give great service to prospective customers, I'm so glad to read we got it right on this occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 15 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 15 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#4 of 15 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PorterHouse.sy1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PorterHouse.sy1

Property: PorterHouse.sy1
Address: 15 St. Marys Street, Shrewsbury SY1 1EQ, England (Formerly Mad Jack's)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PorterHouse.sy1 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PorterHouse.Sy1 enjoys a great location in the heart of the historical town with easy walking access to the railway station, local tourist spots and many great independant shops and boutiques. Four stylishly decorated double rooms are complimented with contemporary en-suite bathrooms, flat screen tv's and free wi-fi access. Breakfasts are provided each morning and the on-site restaurant, headed by our award-winning chef is there for everything from a quick lunch to a special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your PorterHouse.sy1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mad Jack`s Hotel Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing