We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite Spanish Tapas, but still an enjoyable evening!”
Review of PorterHouse.sy1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PorterHouse.sy1
Ranked #14 of 56 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We visited on Bank Hol Sunday, and it was Spanish Tapas evening. The tapas menu was a strange mix of apparent Spanishness with dishes such as cous cous, mousaka and hallumi cheese! We chose a few dishes, and they were generous portion sizes. They were all tasty. Service was very friendly and efficient. Atmosphere was buzzy, and enjoyable. We did enjoy our visit, but the tapas menu should have omitted the Spanish reference!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mad J, General Manager at PorterHouse.sy1, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. Although i am happy you enjoyed your bank holiday evening with us, i agree it was not quite 'Spanish' Tapas. Having taken this on board our next night will just be 'Tapas'. Thanks again. Hope to see you at the next event.
Regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 175 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package which we thought was really good value at £130. The room was lovely, well equipped, clean and spacious with a great bathroom. The location is fantastic, couldn't be more central. The bar, restaurant and terrace garden are all well kept and well furnished. The staff were all great, extremely friendly and efficient. Breakfast was delicious as was most of the food at dinner. I wouldn't say the food was amazing, but would defo try it again. I had Seabass with curried crab risotto, unfortunately I couldn't really taste the fish as the curry flavouring was so strong and the crab flavour was none existent. The onion bahjis were also very greasy and I couldn't eat them. Similarly my partners rosti was very greasy, but the rest of his meal (duck) was delicious. We would definitely recommend Mad Jack's, and would return if we visited the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sc160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

They do the best cocktails here!
Really nice atmousphere and nicely decorated, really nice to go to meet friends for drinks and snacks, good location in the town centre with friendly staff and a nice outside area!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Me and my boyfriend dined here last month and it was fantastic, good freshly cooked food and amazing wine. The chicken was cooked to perfection and the dining area itself is very nicely decorated.

Only negative would be the rush to get you seated and out but it was very busy and there was 9 of us on a Saturday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimmeyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We needed an overnight stay en-route to North Wales, picked Shrewsbury as a good spot and found Mad Jack's on booking site.

We got the Suite at front on first floor, including full evening meal and full breakfast for 150GBP.

The property was noisy mid-week, both from bar late at night and from deliveries early morning.

The bar is a great spot, but this is more of a restaurant than bar. So have a good meal, a BIG nightcap before bed and hopefully you'll sleep through - the noise outside wasn't anything relating to Mad Jack's, just adjacent business opening up for the day.

Amanda was the manager on duty, very welcoming and clearly a good team manager as her team were very relaxed, efficient and confident without becoming arrogant or cocky. If I had a hotel I would want her running it.

Having previously stayed at The Lion where service and room quality were poor, I really enjoyed the intimacy of Mad Jack's. Just one fault, parking - there is none.

All in all, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: if sleep important, go to rear of hotel or second floor. if room space important go for the suite, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mad J, General Manager at PorterHouse.sy1, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

So glad we could make your stay so comfortable and enjoyable. It's great to know the team's hard work really does pay off. It means a lot. Come visit again soon. Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My friend and I went for dinner last saturday night (28th April), the staff were really friendly and the food was fantastic. We had the seafood spanish stew for starters and the stuffed chicken for the main course, both were delicious and the food is reasonably priced.

Cocktails and wine were also very nice and again reasonably priced

Would definately recommend

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in madjacks for a quick social drink with friends and found the staff and atmosphere fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave245678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
695 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PorterHouse.sy1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PorterHouse.sy1

Address: 15 St. Marys Street, Shrewsbury SY1 1EQ, England (Formerly Mad Jack's)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range: $109 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PorterHouse.sy1 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PorterHouse.Sy1 enjoys a great location in the heart of the historical town with easy walking access to the railway station, local tourist spots and many great independant shops and boutiques. Four stylishly decorated double rooms are complimented with contemporary en-suite bathrooms, flat screen tv's and free wi-fi access. Breakfasts are provided each morning and the on-site restaurant, headed by our award-winning chef is there for everything from a quick lunch to a special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your PorterHouse.sy1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mad Jack`s Hotel Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing