We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday lunch”
Review of PorterHouse.sy1

PorterHouse.sy1
Ranked #56 of 352 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are the best at combining your favourite AMERICAN Flavours with Good Ol' BRITISH Behaviour PorterHouse.SY1 dining serves up some great American favourites. Think big juicy BURGERS, hot and succulent CHICKEN WINGS, Prime-cut Steaks, low n slow cooked BBQ RIBS..And a sprinkling of salads and lighter fish for the healthier ones among you. Enjoy our VIBRANT COCKTAIL BAR, beautiful CONSERVATORY dining area and cozy restaurant alongside attentive and friendly servers and bartenders who love what they do and believe in having FUN! What's not to love? We look forward to seeing you soon. The Friendly PorterHouse Team
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Be prepared, you won't leave hungry. Food was lovely and the portions were generous. Despite it being a busy Saturday lunch time we were greeted on arrival, said we wanted to eat and was quickly shown to a table, drinks orders taken. Everything was clean and the staff attentive but not overbearing. They have some great deals on in the week which we will try out and on a sunday there is live music from about 10.30 onwards so it will be 'sunday brunch' for us one day soon.

living locally we can see this restaurant being a firm favourite of us both

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorterHouse s, General Manager at PorterHouse.sy1, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely words, really appreciate the positive feedback, we do our best and I will make sure that this gets fed back to the rest of the team.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    189
    76
    62
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Wednesday, busy due to the offer they had on two steak meals and bottle of wine for £40. Booked a table days in advance arrived at restaurant to be informed our table wasn't ready and would we like to have a drink at the bar why waited for our table? Not a problem, we ordered our bottle of wine.... After 45 minutes and asking to be seated 3 times were taken to our table to find someone else seating in it??? This is what waitress told us!! Were then told they would sort it however due to it being really busy they couldn't. After complaining to the manager decided service just got worse and with attitude was then told we would have to pay for the wine, suggested to the manager this poor service maybe some form of compensation should be given ( I was thinking a voucher to encourage us to come back a different evening). The answer was - i suppose I could give you some free cocktails. Basic lessons in customer service.

Helpful?
2 Thank Stevbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic break in Shrewsbury”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Excellent food and wine, good value for money. Brilliant service in a quiet location. Professional and friendly staff. Highly recommended and we hope to visit again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorterHouse s, General Manager at PorterHouse.sy1, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, so glad to hear that you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many thanks,
Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolsover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Went out looking for steak and chips - and this met the requirement excellently. Great quality food - in pleasant suroundings. Steak cooked to perfection (rare) and accompanying items supported well..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorterHouse s, General Manager at PorterHouse.sy1, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your experience with us, and thank you for taking the time to let us know.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks,

Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not as good as i expected”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We arrived here at 8.30pm on a Saturday night, which to be expected was typically busy. After waiting for longer than expected, we were taken to our seats by a particularly miserable waiter.
My husband and I both decided to try the fillet of beef. At £27 per person. I was extremely disappointed when mine arrived. The fillet was very dry and quite bland, which then put me off ordering a dessert.
We were with friends so company and drinks it was for the evening. We had one waiter nick who was exceptionally good at his job, always pleasant, friendly and helpful. Although one waitress seemed too quick to stand and wait whilst we gave her our FULL drinks order. Walking away whilst taking an order I find is quite rude. To then have missed one of our drinks out.
Overall disappointed with what I expected to be a fantastic meal. Had been recommended to go here, but don't think I shall be revisiting any time soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsTidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PorterHouse.sy1 also viewed

 

Been to PorterHouse.sy1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing