We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little touch of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #1 of 347 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: We are a genuine family run restaurant, we are proud to prepare Modern Italian cuisine, we also offer exclusive fine dining gourmet evenings during the year, where Italian cuisine is taken to a much higher level, bookings essential.
Shrewbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A little touch of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We visited La Dolce Vita for an early Sunday Supper and arrived to find a Family of ten aleady there and clearly having fun! The front of House Owner Luigi greeted us ,seated us and swiftly returned with wine and menus.The meal was superb and we indulged in three courses. The food presentation was faultless,hot and absolutely delicious. it is always a pleasure to come here for Lunch,Dinner and to celebrate anything! The very talented Chef Gennaro aided by lovely Patricia provide authentic Italian food in a cosy and friendly restaurant.The house wine is some of the best I have ever sampled! Just like being in Italy but so much closer!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    57
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Puddings EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We visited on 22nd February after having to cancel previously due to the weather. It was a half way meeting point for a family get together. I am so glad we re-scheduled. Yes the exterior is a little jaded - but inside was clean and tasteful. A superb welcome, and the food was wonderful. We were not rushed like in some chain restaurants. I am a pudding person and I was in for a treat. Innovative, well thought out flavours, beautifully presented - stunning.
Thank you so much. A lovely Italian restaurant as it should be!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem just simply wonderful ............”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited La Dolce Vita after reading the superb reviews on trip advisor & have to say we were not disappointed. The food & service are both out of this world we will definitely be back. Certainly a hidden gem well worth visiting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Pure brilliance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I went to this restaurant last night for a first date . After hearing about it from this site I decided to try it out. I turned up to be greeted by the friendliest staff ive ever seen. We were served straight away and because we had to wait twenty minutes for our freshly cooked food we had a free complimentary starter. The food was really magnificent. Presentation and quality. The wine was good and the whole meal was only 50 pounds. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wormacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“memorable birthday treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

if it is quality, un hurried ,relaxed atmosphere then you have it at La Dolce Vita, forget what was written about the outside and decor of this magical little family run business the quality of food,presentation and attention to detail are what its all about. May it long continue. This was our first visit and certainly not the last. The only negative was the owner watching football on a laptop in the restaurant perhaps this is the new era of dining out. Not the first place we have been recently that the owner/manager using one.on the bar. The food made up for it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing