We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff make an evening”

Cromwells Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 351 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $61
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: A vibrant and lively popular Inn right in the centre of the historic County Town. Close to all the main attractions. Run by local staff members and owned and by a local family. Based in an atmospheric 500 year old building in the centre of Shrewsbury with a Wine Bar, Restaurant and superb Garden. Six fine guest rooms with three having hand-made fourposter beds which were made just across the border in Heredordshire. Awarded a five star Restaurant rating by the Shropshire Star. Many new features for 2014 including a new Restaurant.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff make an evening”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Had a very relaxing meal here on Easter Monday evening. The food wasn't marvellous but it was what we would expect for pub grub on Easter Monday evening. Perfectly acceptable but not historic. Chips were pretty good though! What stood out was the outstanding service from the two chaps on the bar. Cheerful, helpful, attentive but not too much so. They just made this a lovely end to the holiday weekend. Thanks very much guys.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    137
    46
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
DISS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“good food”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Recently visited Shrewsbury and found this little gem tucked away in a side street. Well presented food and very tasty too. So much so that we visited it two consecutive nights.

Friendly staff. The last night when we left it was raining heavily , and as we were on foot, the waitress insisted my wife taking her umbrella!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DWGDiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely sunny garden!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

On a visit to Shrewsbury my wife and I stopped in here for a spot of lunch in the garden. My wife had an epic fishfinger (home made) sandwich and I had a cajun chicken sandwich. Both were very tasty.

Very friendly service, and the garden is very well kept and neat.

Worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank TrailRaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“better than I thought.”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We often go to Shrewsbury and me and my husband thought that we would try this place. It looks small from the outside. However, it looked bigger inside and we decided to eat. I am so glad we did. Yes it was a bit pricey for a burger but WHAT A BURGER. I could not finish it all, it was fantastic and the garnish salad was lovely and fresh. We had lager with it and because the food was so filling, I just about managed to finish my second half.I would come back here again and again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ann0wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening.”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Attended a group (approx 12 people) birthday party meal at this restaurant recently, We dined on a Saturday evening and had booked in advance.

The venue is a pretty even split between being a bar or a restaurant. The bar area isn't especially 'open plan' and retains a traditional English pub feel, this creates a nice lively and snug environment. You can dine in the bar area if you're looking for a more informal setting to eat, however the venue also has a separate dining only area that has a lovely period decor and retains the feeling of an old Georgian home. Due to the relatively small dimensions of the venue the tables are all a bit close together, but not excessively so and would only seem so if you were looking for a really private dining experience.

Service was friendly, swift and handled well for a relatively large group. There were a couple of mix ups with the order (ran out of one person's selection and someone was given the wrong meal) however these were resolved remarkably quickly and in the end I would say reflected very well on the staff.

The food was very nice. There was a good selection on the menu and an accommodating range in price to cover most budgets. My meal was very tasty and I think the quality reflected the price paid and the standard the venue aims at. Nothing mind-blowing, but I left feeling entirely satisfied and that's good enough for me.

The wine list was not quite as good unfortunately. Not enough variety and if you wanted to spend less than £20 on a bottle you only had one or two options which was arguably the only negative point of the evening. If wine is a major factor of your dining experience you should bear this in mind.

I believe when drinks were factored in (all but one were drinking wine), a starter and main course for everyone and with the bill divided equally it was roughly £30 per person, which was entirely fair.

I would recommend this venue for almost all sorts of dining experience, romantic, informal, formal or group. I would (and will) be visiting the venue again for both a drink and a bite.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cromwells Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Cromwells Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing