We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and relaxation loungers.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and relaxation loungers.
Beautiful hot tub, perfect for shared relaxing moments. Relaxing rural retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and relaxation loungers.
Beautiful hot tub, perfect for shared relaxing moments.
Relaxing rural retreat
Kitchen that caters for your needs
The Stable is on the ground floor so suitable for less abled people.  It has an enclosed garden.
Relax in the evening sun listening to the rural bird life.
Homemade cake awaits your arrival with tea, coffee and milk.
Patio doors leading from the lounge to the garden, let the fresh air relax you!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
722LindaD
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic retreat”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a fantastic 11 days at the property, which was a real home-from-home. Rachel and Gerry made us very welcome. Bella our border collie was also welcomed and felt at home. When she needed to see a vet, Rachel contacted their local vet for help. It is in a fantastic location to visit Shropshire and North Wales. Would strongly recommend this property, as the standard of accommodation was very high. Also having a home baked cake and tea and coffee waiting was welcome after a long journey. It was refreshing to have flexibility of when we could start our holiday and the number of days we could stay. Will visit again.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and friendly
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2015
It was a pleasure having you and of course Bella to stay here. I hope she has fully recovered from her accident. I will look forward to seeing you all back here soon, Regards Rachel Burlton Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah W
Church Stoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic.”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed over Easter weekend as my sister was getting married at Pimhill Barn just up the road. We rented the 3 properties and none could be faulted. All were spacious, were beautiful in decoration and the heated floors were a lovely surprise! Everything was perfect for a magical wedding day and this, as our base, added to it perfectly. Also, we had gorgeous cakes in each cottage which were thoroughly enjoyed. Perfect! The new born lambs were just adorable too!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Nothing, it was great!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2015
It was a pleasure to have such a beautiful bridal party leave from here. I love weddings, so I feel very honoured that you decided to base yourselves here and privileged to have been involved with your special day. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie C
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage, great views and countryside!”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Me and my partner stayed at Burlton Cottages in The Granary. The Granary is a very modern and well put together cottage, extremely comfy and relaxing. Great facilities including a huge bed! There are plenty of things to do, we explored the local walking routes and visited the local town.

We had a great stay in The Granary and are planning to return later on in the year with friends!

Many thanks to the host, Rachal, who was extremely helpful and welcoming.

Sophie.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Freshly baked cake on arrival and helpful host.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2015
Many thanks Sophie, it is wonderful sharing this beautiful countryside with others especially this time of year when nature is waking up!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom C
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place and welcoming host”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for 4 nights at the end of August. The house was lovely, very spacious and very well equipped. Rachel was very welcoming when we arrived and showed us around the house, and had even made a lovely homemade cake for us to enjoy (which we did!)

I would definately return again!

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you, Rachel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth W
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and we were really impressed with the Stables. It was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and decorated to a very high standard. We received a warm, friendly welcome on arrival and the homemade biscuits were a lovely touch and much appreciated. Everything about it impressed us and we've stayed in a great many self catering properties, but this has to be in our top three.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Ham
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing countryside retreat”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Stables was a lovely place to stay, just perfect for a relaxing break in the Shropshire countryside. Rachel and her family made us feel very welcome. The Stables is decorated to a high standard and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. It was great to relax in the garden and not have to worry about our little dog escaping as it was all securely fenced off. The bed was so comfortable we had a great nights sleep. We will definitely be looking to return to enjoy the peace and quiet.

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1231gb
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is exactly as shown on the photographs, what they can not show is the very comfortable bed and lounge furniture. Everything has been so well thought out, it really is a very nice place to stay. The farm is arable and very tidy, lovely space to sit outside with a glass of wine. There is a beautiful barbecue area. we could only stay for 3 nights this time but we will be returning. The hosts are welcoming and very friendly, Rachel makes lovely cakes one of which was eaten by us. The surrounding area is peaceful, its a beautiful and comfortable place to come back to after exploring Shropshire and Wales.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its just so well thought out and the great internet connection
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing