We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbey Court House
Nearby Hotels
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$72
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Old Bell Pub(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Abbots Mead Hotel(Shrewsbury)
$94
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
18
32
18
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
32
18
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomfull englishminute strollcouple of nightsdecent sizeroom was cleanshort stayexcellent locationstayed for one nightcerealrearkettlefurnishingsbath
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 84 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We have visited Shrewsbury many times and have stayed in a variety of Hotels, this time we thought we would try a 4 star B & B and chose Abbey Court House. From the moment we arrived we new we were going to enjoy our stay, we had a ground floor double room that had doors leading to a small garden area with seating, the room was very clean, plenty of wardrobe space and a good comfy bed. The breakfast was very good and a request for scrambled eggs on toast instead of an English breakfast was no bother to the owner Valerie. Next time we visit Shrewsbury we know just where we will stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

A wonderful short stay with all the comforts of home,comfortable room with an en-suite,and a delightfiul host who made you very welcome. Would not have any reservations to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minymidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

This surely must be the winner of the most uncomfortable bed in a guest house award. The pillows were like lumps of sugar and the curtain hanging off the rail. The owner insisted it was new but new 20 years ago more like. We were awoken by the fumes of the landlady smoking ourside our (ground floor) room window, which was open, she was discussing the mornings work for the cleaners, great if you are a cleaner!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Ryderacockhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedCloudUK, Owner at Abbey Court House, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2007

A Wonderful Place to Stay

As the owner/manager of Abbey Court House I must point out that the negative review by ‘Rideracockhorse, Cider Lady’ above does not reflect the experience of a stay at Abbey Court – see below. Anyone is welcome to view our Guest Comments book which is full of complimentary comments.

Abbey Court House is a quality 4 Star guest house which adheres to very high standards. These standards are independently assessed on a regular basis by both Visit Britain and The AA - the two main UK accommodation quality standards organisations. Abbey Court has been awarded 4 Star Guest House ratings by both bodies. Under the previous scheme it was awarded AA 4 Red Diamonds in Sept 06 (assessed as being within the top 10% of UK 4 Diamond establishments).

All guest rooms are supplied with quality beds which are regularly checked (and replaced if required). This applies to bedding, linen and furnishings also. All bedrooms are serviced to a high standard on a daily basis. So I am puzzled as to why ‘Rideracockhorse’ thought the bed and pillows were uncomfortable.

A room would never have been let with a curtain ‘hanging off the rail’. If we had been made aware that such a problem had arisen, then it would have been easily rectified straight away.

Similarly, if a guest was unhappy with the pillows, then I would be more than happy to replace them.

Nobody at Abbey Court would even contemplate smoking outside a guest room. Any discussions with staff are always made in private behind closed doors.

Guest issues cannot be addressed unless we are made aware of them during the time of stay. It is curious that ‘Rideracockhorse’ choose to air their grievances 8 months after the quoted date of stay.

Unsurprisingly, none of the 100’s of other guests who stayed at Abbey Court House reported the issues raised by ‘Rideracockhorse’.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews