We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fell running weekend”
Review of Abbey Court House

Abbey Court  House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Court House
Ranked #32 of 56 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I would thoroughly recommend this establishment. We were going to a fell run the following day in Cardington. Friendly staff rooms very clean and spacious.location ideal as you can walk into the town.The breakfast was plentiful and there was a variety of cereals etc I shall be staying here again on my next trip in the area..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank egonronay3357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 81 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Attended wedding at The Lord Hill hotel next door, they had run out of rooms so suggested we stay in the B&B. Started off a bit strange from the start, emailed & phoned to book, sent cheque but received no confirmation. On speaking to reception they couldn't confirm whether we had a booking or not as they do not put names against rooms! Rang a couple of times after that but kept being told the same thing! Anyway, when we arrived for the wedding not knowing whether we might have to spend 3 hours driving back home, it turned out we did have a room after all. We we're put in the annex. The room was ok but I've never had such an uncomfortable sleep (or lack of) in my whole life! I'm not tall but my feet hung off the end of the bed! For some bizarre reason as well, the bed wasn't totally flat! The pillows were literally like bricks! Shower was totally useless as it was merely a trickle. Bathroom clean & tea & coffee making facilities available only one of the cups had a chip in it. Breakfast served between 8-9am. Busy when we arrived. Did not enjoy the cooked breakfast at all. Plenty on the plate but the quality of the sausages was very poor indeed. Was glad to leave & pleased it was only a one night stay. Could have some potential if it was refurbished & more thought went into the quality of food they serve.

Stayed: October 2013
8  Thank PJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A poor bed and breakfast, the staff seemed to look down their noses at the customers, the rooms were very old fashioned and you could hear running water gushing through pipes in your room every time another guest used the toilet or shower. The windows did not open and the walls had damp on them

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank autumn811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for a night before travelling over to north Wales. I booked the room via a online site and received a call about an hour later from the owners to say that the last double room had just been booked but they could offer me a slightly smaller one at a lower price. As it was only for one night I thought this would be fine. As it turned out although the room was small it was fine for us. The bathroom was large and clean and the staff were all very friendly. It's a great location to explore Shrewsbury from, just a 15 minute walk into town. The breakfast was lovely. There appeared to be lots of us veggies in the morning we stayed, but we were all catered for and the food was cooked well. With parking out the back this is a nice little place to stay if stopping off in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairyexplorerlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After reading some of the other reviews, I had to check that I was reviewing the same Guest House !
Our room at the front was musty, and the window could not be opened, so we had to open the bathroom window to get some fresh air into the room. There was continous noise from the road and other guests coming and going and shouting and swearing until after 2 a.m. (Although the proprietors cannot be to blame for their bad behaviour) so very little sleep was had ! The room was small and poorly furnished, but the bed linen and towels were very clean. The WiFi did not work, we managed at one stage to connect with the WiFi from the hotel across the road ! The breakfast was of poor quality, and only served between 8.00am and 9.00am
To sum up... The worst overnight stay we have ever had and we have travelled the world extensively ! Needless to say we will not be returning to Abbey Court Guest House !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Textileartiist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Clean and convenient but Breakfast very rushed and only an hour given. No menus were offered nor choices and the cooked breakfast arriving before I could even finish my coffee or cereal .........
Please slow down and ask Guests if they are ready rather than rushing this service through. Personally I would not return!

Room Tip: Would advise try and find an alternative for the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlesworth100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at the guest house while visiting friends in Shropshire and it was lovely. Staff very friendly, food delicious and room was nice. It was within walking distance from the town and all the local attractions. If we needed to come to Shrewsbury again we would definitely book here.

Room Tip: Room 10 at the rear was nice and quiet, furthest away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila186383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Lord Hill Hotel
Lord Hill Hotel
#14 of 16 in Shrewsbury
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbots Mead Hotel
Abbots Mead Hotel
#13 of 16 in Shrewsbury
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Charnwood Guesthouse
Charnwood Guesthouse
#26 of 56 in Shrewsbury
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#18 of 56 in Shrewsbury
210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sydney House
Sydney House
#23 of 56 in Shrewsbury
165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#41 of 56 in Shrewsbury
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court House

Address: 134 Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury SY2 6AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range: $70 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Court House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Court House offers quality accommodation in a Grade II listed building refurbished to a high standard. Comfortable en-suite guest rooms each with hospitality tray, TV and telephone. Convenient for the town centre. Off-road parking and some ground floor rooms. Superb breakfasts include vegetarian options. A warm welcome is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Abbey Court House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing