We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous lunch.”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #11 of 55 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
craven arms
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A fabulous lunch.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

If ever you are looking for a substantial,light lunch,there cant be anywhere better than The Bull.Fabulous wraps,served with a side salad and hand cut chips.The service as ever,was attentive and efficient.Never fails!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    61
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
22
97
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Called in on a Sunday afternoon at 2pm - board outside said 'we serve food everyday 12-9pm'. Ordered a drink and sat down to look at the menu - decided to have sandwiches and went to the bar to order. I was told by an uninterested barmaid to order at the food till around the corner. At the food till I was told they were not serving sandwiches or light bites only main meals despite the menu clearly saying all food served 12-9pm. We decided to finish our drinks and go somewhere else. A party of 6 came in at 2.50pm and were told they had to order by 3pm as they were stopping serving and they could only have roast dinners. They left too.

After 3pm the menus were still left on the tables although you couldn't get any food! Totally poor customer service - maybe this was a one off with problems in the kitchen but why not make an effort to let people know??

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromilee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This bed and breakfast above a very pleasant pub in the centre of Shrewsbury is what you call value for money. Our room was actually beautiful. Loads of character and charm. Decent size. Very clean. Large screen TV. Tea and coffee making facilities. Toiletries in the bathroom. Bed linen and towels smelt so fresh like they had literally just been laundered. The room was warm and cosy and considering it was above a busy pub there was hardly any noise. Shower really hot and great pressure. Staff are extremely friendly and very talkative. Breakfast was great. Cereal and fruit to help yourself too and then we had a full English. Tea and coffee was unlimited. The location is perfect loads of restaurants pubs and bars on the door step and lovely abbey/church facing. This was the best B&B I have ever stayed in and at only £60 I'll definitely be staying again when I return. Don't think twice about booking the Bull Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bromilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was a pub dinner we went for, mid week, we did not experience the B&B.
I have previously visited this pub months ago and had an excellent meal and excellent service, the food was lovely, not expensive, there were people asking how our meal was and overall a great experience.

Well....this visit was truly awful. Me and my partner walked in and there was an obvious different set up, there was no one to greet us when we walked in, in fact we just got looked at by the bar staff. We sat ourselves down and looked at the menus on the table, no one came to our table so we waited a while then assumed you ordered at the bar, so we took the menus to the bar to order and the woman rudely told us, 'order at the food till, round the corner'. There were no signs or greetings to inform us of the set up. We ordered our drinks, which took a while as the rude woman asked 'what ya want?' and then served someone else in-between doing one drink. (£4.00 a pint?!?) and went in look for the food till. i waited almost 10 minutes to order the food and paid, it was reasonably priced. The food arrived quickly and I wish I hadn't ordered at all, it was dry tasteless and not nice and nothing like the menu described. No one came to ask if our food was okay - which it wasn't, and it seemed like as long as you paid no one cared what you thought. The staff just ignored us as we left, leaving most of the food.

Really disappointed in the terrible, rude service, disjointed set up and dry tasteless food. Will not be returning here again.

Room Tip: Not sure about the rooms and B&B itself, but after seeing the restaurant side of things I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Well what a find, 3 of us stayed from 22nd to 25th November and had no complaints at all. Clean and tidy rooms good breakfast and very friendly helpful staff. Would book and stay again without hesitation. Only ate once apart from breakfast and the food and service was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A great location and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. A little bit noisy, but if you choose to stay in a town centre hotel, that's to be expected. Room was small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwell , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great place and the food was very nice. Ideal location and the kids loved it too. Staff were very pleasant and met our needs. Would deffo recomend and a nice place for the family.good local area and short walk to lots of attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
#12 of 55 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: 7 Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing