We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
173
164
92
62
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
173
164
92
62
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building abbey suite sunday lunch town centre breakfast was excellent lovely hotel one night stay booked this hotel four poster bed evening meal following morning full english conservatory wedding venue rear heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 514 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2019

Booked in after a long journey and decided to run a bath, it took 9 minutes for the water to get hot, reported it to reception and were told there must be a problem with the pump, the problem carried on for the whole of our 2-night stay. The website says “The Conservatory Restaurant is open Monday – Saturday 6.00 – 9.45pm but on trying to make a reservation we were told that the restaurant didn’t open in the evening but that we could eat in the brasserie which was actually the bar serving a very limited menu. My husband spoke to the manager to voice our concerns, but he just shrugged his shoulders and didn’t have any comment to make. We had booked room only but on checking out had been charged for breakfast, when I queried this the girl on reception went into the restaurant and brought out another member of staff who looked me over and declared she couldn’t be sure if I had breakfast or not!! We will definitely not be using the hotel on our next visit to Shrewsbury and quite frankly, would not recommend it to anyone who is thinking of booking in! On speaking to a couple of shop owners in the town about our concerns, they seemed to have heard it all before. I could say a lot more but really, is there any point, the hotel manager Carl, wasn't bothered about any of the issues we raised when we were there so he probably won't even be bothered with the review!!

Room tip: Ask them to clarify if they have hot water available!!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beverley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

This is a nice enough if rather old fashioned hotel not far from the town centre with generally an elderly clientele. The staff are super - very friendly and smiley and always willing to help.

However - management please note - the toilet in Room 45 is not fit for purpose requiring multiple flushes every morning which is both a waste of time and water.

Apparently this is a general problem in the block of rooms known as the Lodge. Really this needs some attention please.

Apart from that the rooms are clean and comfortable if a little basic. Probably good value for money (if the toilets worked properly!).

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank jeremyp965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

Annual get together for a family group lunch at The Lord Hill Hotel. As in previous years the service and staff are of the highest standard, probably the best in Shrewsbury from our experience's. The dining room is clean and light, even on a wet day, filled water jugs and glasses were on the table when we sat down for our meal, a small point but one I always feel is important. The meals are competitively priced with a Sunday Lunch option of one, two, or three courses. Whilst the food was very good people in the group found that the beef fell a little bit short of expectations, not enough to complain though. Will certainly go again.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianNostalgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019

From book in to book out service was excellent. The room was adequate in size and spotless, room 107. ( can not comment on lodge we were in main hotel) The bathroom had great shower and again was spotless. Everything worked! We ate at hotel Sunday and Monday. The Sunday roast was fabulous, we had the lamb. The table was set up really nice with jug water and full cutlery. Monday we had slow cooked brisket, melt in mouth tender with mash and three veg and beautiful rich sauce. Table not quite as well laid,eg no water or bread rolls offered but that is nit picking, breakfast was cooked to order and lovely with decent portions. The food is highly recommended. The hotel staff were helpful friendly and polite. All in all a good stay and we would recommend. It truly is walking distance from shop centre and the old jail iwhich is well worth a visit. Car parking is excellent.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Fromwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night. The room was spacious and comfortable. Out of three couples staying, we had the best room even though the others were supposed to have booked into the best rooms. Our room, 208, had a huge bathroom, with walk in shower area, and stand alone bath. There was also a sitting area, with wall mounted tv.

So the room was good so why the three stars, we’ll the bar staff were struggling to smile, the food wasn’t brilliant on the evening, even though it cost a small fortune for the retiree. The breakfast had a good selection but the cooked breakfast came out over cooked.

I’d recommend the stay but not the breakfast. I expected a decent breakfast for the money paid, that being said, the porridge was lovely.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank PeterJ307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews