We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lord Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Love2Stay(Shrewsbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveler rating
149
148
84
58
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
148
84
58
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingsunday lunchnight porterpleasant hotelwedding receptionon arrivalfull english breakfastbreakfast was excellentstaff were brillianttown centreshort breakan overnight staystayed for one nightenjoyable stayfollowing morningevening mealvisiting shrewsbury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 462 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2010

A shrine to woodchip
Have stayed in more comfortable greenhouses - the room was boiling, despite open window all evening
No proper soap at handbasin, generic dispensers for handbasin and shower both empty
Bathroom very tired - peeling counters and rusty taps
Shower - pressure and volume appalling - took forever to rinse hair
TV on wall on bracket that does not move and not in eye line from bed
TV reception appalling - only has 5 terrestial channels and only 3 in focus
Hairdryer attached on cord through drawer - impossible to use if over 5ft 4 in height and wouldn't dry a feather

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mex7107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Should have stayed at a holiday inn . I have never meet such incompitant management on all levels. Lack of English staff made ordering food very hard . Reception not helpfull at all . However after a terrible stay the food we received was excellent we thought we were in the wrong hotel that was until the middle aged gent in suit came stomping over hovering for our plates until then we had not seen him all night to attend to our drinks. So we got great food in a terrible hotel with shocking staff who are in contact with customers from manager to low class waiters and receptionists . Hats off to kitchen staff though.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This hotel served us well enough for one night. The room was a reasonable size, well-furnished, though the bed was past its use-by date. We stayed in the lodge at the back of the main hotel, which looks somewhat like a student hostel, but was quiet enough. Heating was comfortable without being too warm.
An ancient hairdryer was available and the bathroom was somewhat tired, but adequate for the price. Less mobile visitors might wish to avoid this annex on account of the narrow corridor upstairs and very slippery bath.
One of the big pluses is that there is plenty of parking here and it's walking distance to town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Rooms are very cosy, mattress is quite cheap though. Location is good. But! They had an event on which as I write this, all I can hear is the base. At midnight! If an event is on you WON'T get any sleep. And they didn't mention this when booking. Would not recommend.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Me and my Husband got married at The Lord Hill Hotel in September and we couldnt have asked for a better day! Nothing was too much hassel for any of the staff with the running of our day.
The Regency Suite (the room we had our wedding reception in) is a very spacious room and accommodated our guests per fectly. The whole decoration and set up of the room was amazing!
Our "Honeymoon Suite" was perfect for me and my bridesmaids to get ready in before hand and as said before nothing was too much hassel for the staff when i was getting myself stressed out!
This hotel has the most professional and friendly staff and every single one of them would do anything to help you and make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
The food was impecable and all my wedding guests commented on the very tasty hog roast and evening buffet.
All in all i would recommend The Lord Hill Hotel for any type of function or special get-a-way!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews