We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected short break”
Review of Lord Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lord Hill Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“unexpected short break”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I only decided to get away for a 2 night break on 13/8/13 and chose this hotel as it looked clean, presentable and the rate reasonable. We stayed in a twin room in the lodge (a short walk across the car park) and the bedroom was very good, it looked like it had been recently refurbished along with the reception and bar areas. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the breakfast excellent and we would recommend and stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    130
    75
    50
    19
See reviews for
67
165
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We visit The Lord Hill often , this time it was to celebrate my husbands 65 th birthday the food & service was second to none we would like to say a big thank you to all the staff for making Richards day so special .

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was the latest of many visits to the Lord Hill and came up to the standard we have come to expect of it. The staff and management are always friendly and helpful and the quality of the food is very good. We are already booked for our next few visits.

Room Tip: Suites are comfortable and spacious. Other are rooms in the hotel are also of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have visited several local hotels for Sunday lunch but for quality and price the Lord Hill takes some beating. The staff are very friendly and immediately make you feel at home in the luxury surroundings due to the recent costly refurbishment. We have been informed by the management that several bedrooms have recently been updated to a very high standard if anyone was thinking of staying there. We have not seen the rooms ourselves but we have no reason to doubt their word. The Lord Hill is within walking distance of the centre of Shrewsbury. The price of a three course Sunday lunch including coffee and mints is £16.95. There is a good choice of all courses and the beef is to die for. Even my husband will eat beef there, unlike the tough beef I cook that he can't eat. All the vegetables are fresh unlike the watery frozen ones that are served in some places, the beef is carved at the table so that one can choose how they like it cooked and everyone receives silver service. We love it there and we do not think that anyone will be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Another great week at the Lord Hill for our annual visit for our cricket tour to Shropshire. Rooms have been nicely refurbished and breakfast was excellent. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we look forward to being back in July next year! Kevin S

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie_and_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

have just spent 2 nights in main hotel. Excellent service from very helpful staff. we ate each night in the bar, lovely surroundings with restaurant standard service and food. 15 minutes walk to Shrewsbury town centre would definately recommend lord hill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABD1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at the Lord Hill Hotel for two nights for my godson's wedding last Friday. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and the food at the reception couldn't be faulted. I would definitely recommend it as a place to stay in Shrewsbury, plenty of parking as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSJDidsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Hill Hotel

Property: Lord Hill Hotel
Address: Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury SY2 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lord Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Hill Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing