We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A huge thank you!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Post Office
Ranked #20 of 55 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A huge thank you!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Many, many thanks to the customers and staff who found our friend's purse in the Old Post Office. Staff were extremely helpful when we contacted them by telephone and we would like to thank them most sincerely - well done!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    77
    27
    12
    11
See reviews for
19
88
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Really good for the money,o ky £40 a night in January. Couldn't fault anything, old and comfy with good ale, food and live music. Staff very friendly and just popped in on the off chance to see if they had a room for the night ....we struck lucky.

Room Tip: A few stairs to cope with, so ask which room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TYMELYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I liked the room I had at the Old Post Office as it gave me an appreciation for a time gone by without being creepy. It was very clean with a nice bathroom down the corridor. I did find it abit uncomfortable checking in via the house bar but the room and central location more than made up for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights Bed and Breakfast.

The room was a very good size with good, clean, simple furnishings, plenty of tea and coffee makings and for Room 4 a toilet, bath and shower very handily placed just across the hallway (no on-suite in the room).

Breakfast was excellent a decent full English freshly cooked with various other options.

Just a small word of warning it may be a little bit noisy on a Friday and Saturday night from the pub entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tone8906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I looked on the internet for a decent place to stay, found this, advertised as a four star hotel!
Hardly, BUT it was clean and tidy, more of an inn than a hotel, comfortable room and bed, good shower and smashing breakfast, for the price, comfortable and good staff.

Room Tip: Parking not good, and not brilliant with a dicky leg !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony_lyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I performed here as a comic in 2012 and will no doubt be returning in 2013 and 2014. Staff were fantastically friendly, food phenomenal and my room was spectacular - I cannot begin to tell you how much i enjoyed my stay here and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Got a great last minute deal and only paid £49 for a double room! :)
Good location in the centre of Shrewsbury, unfortunately we didn't know until we got there that it had shared bathroom facilities - only staying for 1 night so not too bad but would have been nice to know before
Lovely people and a great deal on prosecco!
Would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cln1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
642 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
0.1 mi away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#3 of 55 in Shrewsbury
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office

Property: The Old Post Office
Address: 1 Milk Street, Shrewsbury SY1 1SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Post Office 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Post Office reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office Hotel Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing