We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend at Shrewsbury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Post Office
Ranked #18 of 55 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
staffs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Weekend at Shrewsbury”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay at the old post office with our good friends the deakins,very friendly pub ,food very good , rooms good , good breakfast in the morning , would stop again here overall a good place to stay in the town centre

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffsDaveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    76
    28
    11
    11
See reviews for
17
89
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

One wet monday night in Shrewsbury for work, popped into this pub and enjoyed a tasty burger with chunky chips and a couple of decent pints - good service, quiet but friendly (not a lot going on elsewhere in town either to be fair) I enjoyed it :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Found this pub whilst out shopping. We sat outside, and had a drink. Lovely, quaint building and traditional pub. Staff were friendly, and the real ale was good!! They do offer food, and looking at the menu, it's traditional pub grub at very reasonable prices. I think again course was around £6.95

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The old post office is a lovely venue whatever the weather but unfortunately the food lets them down. It's quite clear that the food is pre cooked and blasted in the microwave. The staff are also very uninterested.
Would recommend for a drink but not for food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place used to be great, but it would seem the food is somewhat lacking in imagination and effort recently.
I do like the idea of the 2 for £10 menu but it could do with being changed every now and again to mix it up.
Nice place to go for drinks and the comedy club is great, main downside is one of the dark haired waitresses is consistently rude and abrupt, rest of the staff are really nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My best mate and I met up in Shrewsbury for a 'girlie' w'end, as it is a haflway-ish point. It really is a hidden gem of a place! Just off of the main road, go through an arch, and into a real sun-trap of a courtyard. The staff are very welcoming and friendly, with all local information if needed.The rooms are cosy, quiet and with comfy beds. Our room didn't have en-suite, but bathroom was only across the hall. Breakfast was more than adequate, the ONLY critism would be to get better sausages, and grill them nicely, but they were happy to poach the eggs for us as well. We returned for a Sunday lunch, even though we'd booked out, and were treated to a brilliant roast pork dinner, just swimming in the lovely gravy!! The ales were all top notch, in fact is was all in all, a perfect weekend - they'd even arranged beautiful weather!!!

Room Tip: Check if the en-suite are available, but don't be put off if they're not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbirdSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I was in Shrewsbury for a wedding, at nearby Rowton Castle, and needed somewhere that wasn't too expensive. What a great find. The accomodation was clean, cosy and quiet and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It's near all the shops and sights of Shrewsbury and there is a car park just at the bottom of the hill, a five minute walk away, which was useful. The breakfast were excellent, with a choice of a full fry up or eggs on toast and cereals etc. We also had a Sunday roast in the pub and it was delicious. I recommend it!

Room Tip: Room 4 was quiet, but not en-suite. Shared bathroom was super clean and just accross the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 14 in Shrewsbury
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
1,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#4 of 55 in Shrewsbury
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office

Property: The Old Post Office
Address: 1 Milk Street, Shrewsbury SY1 1SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Post Office 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Post Office reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office Hotel Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing